April 19, 2004

More Information

Contact: Kathy Rose-Mockry, Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center, (785) 864-3552.

Program to honor outstanding women at KU April 20

LAWRENCE -- Sixteen outstanding women in the University of Kansas community were recognized at the annual Women's Recognition Program April 20, in the Kansas Union.

The keynote speaker was Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, senior vice provost for academic affairs at KU. Seven outstanding female students were honored for their unique contributions to women at KU or in the community. Specific student awards are: Outstanding Woman in Athletics, Outstanding Woman Student in Community Service, Outstanding International Woman Student, Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership, Outstanding Nontraditional Woman Student, Outstanding Woman Student in Partnership and the Sally Frost Mason Award for Outstanding Woman in the Sciences.

Awards also included Outstanding Woman Staff Member and two recipients of the Outstanding Woman Educator honor. Nine female leaders also were inducted into the KU Women's Hall of Fame, a KU tradition since 1970.

The Hall of Fame inductees were: Christine Kenney, Lawrence, Douglas County district attorney; Pam Soltis, curator of the molecular systematics and evolutionary genetics laboratory at the Florida Museum of Natural History at the University of Florida at Gainesville; Nyla Branscombe, professor of psychology at KU; Susan V. Craig, art and architecture librarian at KU; Alice Lieberman, associate professor of social welfare at KU; Marigold Linton, director of American Indian Outreach at KU; Linda Luckey, assistant to the executive vice chancellor for university relations at KU; Dorothy Pennington, associate professor of African and African-American studies at KU; and Edith Taylor, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology at KU.

Tammara Durham, associate director of the Freshman-Sophomore Advising Center at KU, received the Outstanding Staff Member award. Receiving Outstanding Woman Educator awards were Delores Ringer, director and associate professor of theatre and film at KU, and Antha Cotten-Spreckelmeyer, associate director of the KU humanities and Western civilization program.

The Women's Recognition Program was sponsored by the Commission on the Status of Women and the Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center, both at KU.

Student winners, their hometowns, majors, parents' names, high school alma maters and awards are listed below:

From Overland Park
Sarah Gonzalez, senior in mathematics education, daughter of Joe and Cynthia Gonzalez; Shawnee Mission West High School; Outstanding Woman in Athletics.

From Overland Park and Glen Elder
Kristen Dean, senior in biology and genetics, daughter of Anita Dean Evans of Overland Park and Ron Dean of Glen Elder; Shawnee Mission East High School; Sally Frost Mason Award for Outstanding Woman in the Sciences.

From Glen Elder and Overland Park
Kristen Dean. See Overland Park.

From Maize
Jen Overstreet, senior in journalism (strategic communications emphasis), daughter of Paul and Nancy Overstreet; Maize High School; Outstanding Woman Student in Partnership.

From Kansas City
Jasmin Smith, senior in human development, daughter of Shadrach and Deena Smith; Lincoln College Prep High School; Outstanding Women Student in Community Service.

From Rushville
Terri Wasmund Hildebrand, doctoral student in botany, daughter of Ruth Wasmund Jaggers of Rushville and the late Leonard Wasmund of Hay Springs, Neb.; Hay Springs High School; Outstanding Nontraditional Woman Student.

From Elmira, Ontario
Maggie Mason, senior in journalism (strategic communications), daughter of Greg and Leslie Mason; Elmira District Secondary School; Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership.

From Seoul
Ha-Rim Cha, doctoral student in ecology and evolutionary biology, daughter of In-Tae Cha and Sun-Hee Yi; Chung-Dam High School; Outstanding International Woman Student.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045