April 20, 2004

More Information

Contact: Bill Myers, University Libraries, (785) 864-8921.

Snyder Book Collecting Contest winners, finalists honored today at KU

LAWRENCE -- The winners of the 48th Snyder Book Collecting Contest at the University of Kansas were honored in a ceremony at 3 p.m. Tuesday, April 20, in Oread Books on level 2 of the Kansas Union. Stella Bentley, dean of libraries, hosted the event.

The contest was open to all KU students and includes both undergraduate and graduate divisions.

In the undergraduate division, Joe Morgan, Anthony junior, placed first; Diana Weaver, Lawrence sophomore, placed second; and Jennifer Klingensmith, Olathe senior, earned an honorable mention.

In the graduate division, Jennifer Heller, Lawrence doctoral student, won first place; Christian Moulton, Granite City, Ill., master's degree student, won second place; and Kristin Bovaird-Abbo, Topeka doctoral student, and Molly Mackinnon, master's degree student from Louisville, Colo., and Jemez Springs, N.M., earned honorable mentions.

The winner of each division received a $600 prize and a $100 gift certificate from the KU Bookstores. Second-place winners received a $400 prize and a $50 gift certificate. Honorable mention winners received a $100 prize and a $25 gift certificate.

Elizabeth M. Snyder of Kansas City, Mo., is the contest benefactor through a fund administered by the Kansas University Endowment Association.

Contest entries reflected a wide range of literary tastes and intellectual interests. Titles from this year's finalists include "Writing for No One: Zines and the Literature Underground," "In Search of Mary Magdalene," "Polish Literature in Translation" and "King Arthur through the Ages."

Judges for this year's contest all are former contest prizewinners:

Joe Algaier, Belton, Mo., 1976 undergraduate prizewinner
Alyson Burnett, Overland Park, 1988 undergraduate prizewinner
Brad Mayhew, Lawrence, 1975 & 1980 undergraduate prizewinner
Joy Richmond, Lawrence, 2001 graduate prizewinner
Stephen Weller, Pleasant Hill, Mo., 1998 undergraduate prizewinner

First- and second-place winners' collections will be on display at Oread Books until May 12.

The KU Libraries and Oread Books organize the contest. For more information about the contest and its history, visit spencer.lib.ku.edu/snyder/.

Finalists, parents' names, hometowns and high schools alma maters are:

From Lawrence
Jennifer Heller, doctoral student in American studies, daughter of George and Judy Heller of Lawrence and Lynn Heller, Hartland, Mich.
Diana Weaver, sophomore in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Hutchinson Senior High School graduate.

From Anthony
Joe Morgan, junior in economics and environmental studies, son of Nathan and Lorraine Morgan; Wichita Southeast High School graduate.

From Olathe
Jennifer Klingensmith, senior in computer science, daughter of Dean and Janet Klingensmith; Olathe North High School graduate.

From Topeka
Kristin Bovaird-Abbo, doctoral student in English, daughter of J. Michael and Kathy Bovaird; Washburn Rural High School graduate.

From Louisville and Jemez Springs, N.M.
Molly Mackinnon, master's degree student in Slavic languages and literatures, daughter of Richard Kithil, Louisville, Colo., and Elsie MacKinnon, Jemez Springs, N.M.

From Granite City
Christian Moulton, master's degree student in Russian and East European studies, son of the Rev. Andrew and Joan Moulton; Granite City Senior High School graduate.

Jemez Springs and Louisville, Colo.
Molly Mackinnon. See Colorado.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045