April 5, 2004

Kansas Honors Program

Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 37 high school seniors from 5 northwest counties April 15 at Logan

LAWRENCE -- Students from 11 Kansas high schools will be honored Thursday, April 15, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 37 seniors from high schools in Graham, Norton, Osborne, Phillips and Smith counties will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at the Dane Hansen Memorial Plaza, Community Room, 110 W. Main St., Logan. A gallery viewing starts at 6:15 p.m. followed by a dinner reception at 7 p.m. and an awards presentation at 8 p.m.

Honorees are listed below.

Stuart Bell, dean of the School of Engineering, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representative Carolyn Barnes, director of the Kansas Honors Program, is in charge of award presentations.

The program will cost parents and alumni $8.50 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Polly Bales and Carol Bales, both of Logan, will serve as the site coordinators. David Rankin, Phillipsburg, will serve as the coordinator for Graham and Phillips counties. Kevin Baughman and Tom Baumann, both of Norton, will serve as the Norton County coordinators. Philip Hardman, Osborne, will serve as the Osborne County coordinator, and Samuel Wagner, Harlan, will serve as the Smith County coordinator.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 89,113 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

First Name Last Name High School
Amanda Diercks Eastern Heights High School
Derek Dougherty Eastern Heights High School
Roseanne George Hill City High School
Tim Miller Hill City High School
Kylie Worcester Hill City High School
Cala Beougher Lakeside High School
Grady Carl Lakeside High School
Edie Doane Lakeside High School
Renee Henke Lakeside High School
Jessica Martin Lakeside High School
Valerie Jackson Logan High School
Stephanie Ruff Logan High School
Jarin Kerr Natoma High School
Regan Fessenden Northern Valley High School
Eric Burton Norton Community High School
Ian Conkey Norton Community High School
Charlie Foley Norton Community High School
Patricia Hagman Norton Community High School
Austin Jakubowski Norton Community High School
Ashton Lofgreen Norton Community High School
C.J. Thiele Norton Community High School
Jenae Coop Osborne High School
Bailor Hardman Osborne High School
Kelli LaRosh Osborne High School
Mariah Thibault Osborne High School
Krisa Ubelaker Osborne High School
Eric Krafft Phillipsburg High School
Tina Krafft Phillipsburg High School
Amanda Taylor Phillipsburg High School
Tyson Troyer Phillipsburg High School
Mary Zillinger Phillipsburg High School
Megan Zillinger Phillipsburg High School
Ashley Lambert Smith Center High School
Hilary Lambert Smith Center High School
Brittany Lyon Smith Center High School
Michaela Muck Smith Center High School
Melissa Luiso West Smith County High School


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045