April 6, 2004

Contact: Jennifer Kinnard, School of Journalism and Mass Communications, (785) 864-7644, jkinnard@ku.edu.

KU senior places 6th in national Hearst personality/profile writing competition

LAWRENCE -- A University of Kansas senior in the School of Journalism and Mass Communications has won sixth place in the personality/profile writing category in the 44th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation's Journalism Awards Program.

John Domoney, Leawood senior in journalism, news and information emphasis, won $500 for his article on Todd "Leaper" Williams, who for the past 33 years has unlocked Allen Fieldhouse at 4 a.m. each day, done maintenance, laundry and package delivery there all day, and cheered for the Jayhawk teams as well as the Lawrence High School Lions. To raise money for KU athletics, members of his family in 1949 began the Outland Club, which in 1973 became KU's Williams Fund. Williams also is in the Special Olympics Hall of Fame for his own athletic efforts, particularly in softball. Domoney's story originally was published Nov. 21, 2003, in The University Daily Kansan student newspaper.

Domoney, the son of Pam Schaff of Overland Park and Darcy Domoney of Leawood, is a Blue Valley North High School graduate. He has worked the past six semesters at the Kansan covering men's and women's golf, football, men's basketball and the KU athletics department. He plans to attend KU law school after receiving his bachelor's degree in journalism in May.

More than 100 undergraduate accredited schools of journalism are participating in the 44th annual Hearst Foundation Journalism Awards Program, which includes the personality/profile category among the six monthly writing contests. This category attracted 89 entries from 49 universities and colleges.

KU is in seventh place in overall points accumulated through the Intercollegiate Writing Competition. Northwestern University is first, followed by the University of Missouri-Columbia, the University of Nebraska, Pennsylvania State University, the University of Maryland and the University of Iowa. The Journalism Awards Program is sponsored by accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communications and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The foundation's program awards more than $400,000 in scholarships and grants annually. Journalism departments of all scholarship winners receive matching monetary grants. At the close of the yearlong contests, winners will compete in the National Writing Championship in June in San Francisco, headquarters for the Hearst Foundation.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045