April 8, 2004

Contact: Nancy Lott, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, (785) 864-3516.

4 KU alumni to receive Distinguished Achievement Awards; 2 to speak

LAWRENCE -- The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Kansas will present CLA&S Alumni Distinguished Achievement Awards to four notable alumni. Two -- Terrence D. Jones, director of the Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts, and Paul S. Keim, a scientist known for his anthrax investigations -- will give public presentations.

Recipients are Douglas D. Heckathorn, Ithaca, N.Y.; Terrence D. Jones, Washington, D.C.; Paul S. Keim, Flagstaff, Ariz.; and Edward F. Reilly Jr., Leavenworth. The winners will be honored during a banquet at 6 p.m. April 16 at the Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics on KU's West Campus.

Paul S. Keim is the director of pathogen genomics at TGen and is the Cowden endowed chair in microbiology at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff. His specialty is the development of DNA fingerprinting assays for understanding and tracking especially dangerous diseases such as anthrax and plague. During the 2001 anthrax letter attacks, Keim diverted his laboratory and personal efforts to the DNA analysis of the anthrax strain from the letters. His work resulted in one of the most tangible forensic leads in the investigation. Keim earned a doctorate in plant biochemistry from KU in 1981. He continues to assist the national intelligence community in the area of biological weapons and genomic analysis. Keim will lecture on "Genomics in the Time of Anthrax" at 3:30 p.m. April 16 in 1005 Haworth Hall. His presentation is free and open to the public.

Since 1996, Terrence D. Jones, president and chief executive officer of the Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts, has been responsible for all aspects of the operating and programming arm of Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts and related foundation programs and properties, located in Vienna, Va., and Washington, D.C. Wolf Trap annually presents nearly 300 performances by such artists as Itzhak Perlman, Aretha Franklin, Norah Jones, Sheryl Crow, Harry Connick Jr., Willie Nelson, Bill Cosby, Garrison Keillor, Twyla Tharp Dance and the National Symphony Orchestra.

Jones, who received a bachelor's degree in education from KU in 1970 and a master's degree in design and technical theatre in 1972, will discuss "Volunteerism and Partnerships: The New Landscape of Philanthropy in the Performing Arts" at 4 p.m. April 15 at the Dole Institute of Politics. The presentation is free and open to the public. The presentation will follow a press club format, moderated by John Tibbetts, associate professor of theatre and film. Jones' remarks will be taken from his March 23 address to the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., which aired on National Public Radio and C-SPAN.

Jones, who received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the KU Department of Theatre and Film in 2003, has been a keynote speaker for the National Press Club each year since 2001. He has been a panel leader and speaker for the Renaissance Weekends held from 1998 through 2001 in Washington, a panelist for the National Endowment for the Arts and co-chair of the Association of Performing Arts Presenters annual conference.

Edward F. Reilly Jr. has been chairman of the U.S. Parole Commission since 2001. He was appointed to the commission in 1992. Previously, Reilly served one year in the Kansas House of Representatives and 28 years in the Kansas State Senate. He received a bachelor's degree in political science from KU in 1961. A native of Leavenworth, Reilly worked for 30 years in real estate insurance and banking.

Douglas D. Heckathorn is a sociology professor at Cornell University and is editor of the journal Rationality and Society. His recent research has focused on HIV prevention in high-risk groups, the social structure of jazz musician communities and drawing statistically valid samples of hard-to-reach populations. Heckathorn earned a bachelor's degree in psychology and sociology in 1969, a master's degree in sociology in 1972, and a master of philosophy degree in sociology and a doctorate in sociology in 1974, all from KU.

Recipients were selected by the advisory board of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045