April 8, 2004

Kansas Honors Program

Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 15 high school seniors from 5 western counties at Scott City April 21

LAWRENCE -- Students from five Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, April 21, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 15 seniors from high schools in Greeley, Lane, Scott and Wichita counties will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner reception at the Majestic Theatre, 420 Main, Scott City.

Honorees are listed below.

Lloyd Sponholtz, associate professor of history, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representative Carolyn Barnes, director of the Kansas Honors Program, is in charge of award presentations.

The program will cost parents and alumni $15 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Jerry and Marsha Edwards, Scott City, will serve as the coordinators for the site and Scott and Lane counties. Bill and Maurine Firner, Tribune, will serve as the Greeley County coordinators, and Janna DeLissa, Leoti, will serve as the Wichita County coordinator.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 89,113 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

First Name Last Name High School
Sheena Parker Dighton High School
Nick Weiser Dighton High School
Megan Epp Greeley County High School
Brandy Reynolds Greeley County High School
Jordan Shay Healy High School
Megan Dreiling Scott Community High School
Clinton Gechter Scott Community High School
Ashley Gibbs Scott Community High School
Karissa Hoeme Scott Community High School
Sheena Kuntzsch Scott Community High School
Kaitlin Lorett Scott Community High School
Susan Strickert Scott Community High School
Alyssa Baker Wichita County High School
Wendy Koehn Wichita County High School
Jonathan Krenzel Wichita County High School


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045