Aug. 10, 2004

More Information

Contact: William Staples, sociology department, (785) 864-9413.

KU sociology department honors 28 students at spring awards banquet

LAWRENCE -- The Department of Sociology at the University of Kansas recognized 28 graduate and undergraduate students at its spring awards banquet with awards and scholarships for outstanding academic and teaching achievements.

The department's undergraduate and graduate studies committees presented the awards during the 12th annual event, held May 14 at the McCluggage Conference Room in Fraser Hall.

A number of graduate students received awards and scholarships totaling $11,800. The awards presented at the banquet were the E. Jackson Baur Award for Research and Study of Social Conflict and Conflict Resolution, the Centennial Award, the Carroll D. Clark Award for Teaching Excellence, the Carroll D. Clark Pre- and Post-MA awards, the Morris C. Pratt Research and Travel scholarships, and the Helen Waddle Roofe scholarships.

Undergraduate students were recognized with the Marston M. McCluggage Scholarship and for being inducted into the Alpha Kappa Delta International Sociology Honor Society. The honor society was established in 1920 at the University of Southern California to promote an interest in the study of sociology, research of social problems, and other social and intellectual activities that leads to improvement in the human condition. To be eligible for the honor society, undergraduates must have officially declared the sociology major, be at least a junior, have an overall 3.0 grade-point average, rank in the top 35 percent of their class in general scholarship, maintain a 3.0 GPA in sociology courses and have completed at least four regular courses in sociology.

The department announced recipients for several scholarships and awards, including the Harley S. Nelson Family Scholarship, the Hilden Gibson Award, the Betty Wahlstedt Scholarship, a Dissertation Fellowship, a Graduate School Supplemental Scholarship, the Gottdenker Scholarship for Nontraditional Students, the Eddie Jacobson Scholarship for International Studies and a Midwest Sociological Society Scholarship Development Award.

KU's Department of Sociology is the oldest academic sociology department in the United States, founded in 1891.

The students honored, their hometowns, parents' names and high schools (when available), level in school and distinctions are listed online by home county or state.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045