Contact: Mary Jane Dunlap, University Relations, (785) 864-8853, mjdunlap@ku.edu.

KU business student receives $1,000 Stanley Z. Koplik Memorial Scholarship

LAWRENCE -- Brent Lee Miller, Ottawa junior majoring in accounting and business administration in the University of Kansas School of Business, is KU's first recipient of the $1,000 Stanley Z. Koplik Memorial Scholarship.

Miller is the son of Layman and Carol Miller and a graduate of Ottawa High School.

The scholarship honors Koplik, who was executive director of the Kansas Board of Regents from 1982 until 1993, when he left to become chancellor of the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education. After his death at age 55 in 2000 in Boston, his family and friends established the scholarship to honor his service to the Kansas regents and regents institutions as well as his advocacy of accessible and affordable high-quality public education. Miller is the fifth scholarship recipient.

To be eligible, applicants must be juniors or seniors enrolled full time in any curriculum at a Kansas regents university who demonstrate financial need and who maintain a 3.0 grade-point average. The scholarship is to be used for tuition or related educational expenses.

The scholarship rotates among the six regents universities in Kansas. Preference is given to state residents. The endowed funds are held and maintained by the Kansas State University Foundation. Ted D. Ayres, vice president and general counsel, Wichita State University, administers the scholarship effort. Theresa K. Klinkenberg, KU chief business and financial planning officer, coordinates the project on behalf of students at KU.

Previous scholarship winners, their names as awarded and hometowns are Lea Chapman, Burlington, Emporia State University, 2000-01; Steve Vance, Dighton, Fort Hays State University, 2001-02; Mandy Achilles, Inman, Kansas State University, 2002-03; and Jared Webb, Hugoton, Pittsburg State University, 2003-04. Next year's recipient will be from Wichita State University.

For more information or to contribute to the scholarship fund, contact Ted D. Ayres, vice president and general counsel, Wichita State University, 203 Morrison Hall, Wichita, KS 67260-0001; telephone (316) 978-3001 or e-mail at ted.ayres@wichita.edu.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045