Feb. 11, 2004

Kansas Honors Program

Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 40 high school seniors from Jackson, Nemaha counties at Holton

Related news release: Former Holton editor Leslie McDaniel McManus to be honored for KU service

LAWRENCE -- Students from nine Kansas high schools will be honored Monday, Feb. 23, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 40 seniors from high schools in Jackson and Nemaha counties will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner reception at First United Methodist Church, 1401 W. Fourth, Holton.

Honorees are listed below.

Stella Bentley, KU dean of libraries, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representatives Carolyn Barnes, director of the Kansas Honors Program, and Dr. Linda Duston Warren, Hanover physician and chair of the Kansas Alumni Association board of directors, are in charge of award presentations.

The program will cost parents and alumni $8 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Matt and Paula Taylor, Holton, will serve as the site and Jackson County coordinators. Jackie Olberding, Seneca, will serve as the Nemaha County coordinator.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 89,113 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

First Name Last Name High School
Debra Olberding B & B High School
Laura Rottinghaus B &B High School
Tyler Haverkamp Bern High School
Cynthia Becker Centralia High School
Heidi Crowther Centralia High School
Dustin Flentie Centralia High School
Tyler Degenhardt Holton High School
Danielle DeVader Holton High School
Dayna Eubanks Holton High School
Allysa Gakle Holton High School
Emma Hayes Holton High School
Annie Hundley Holton High School
Jared Morris Holton High School
William Pruett Holton High School
Kylie Zibell Holton High School
Matthew Bloom Jackson Heights High School
Elyse Hankerson Jackson Heights High School
James Schlodder Jackson Heights High School
Leah Tanking Jackson Heights High School
Tyler Williams Jackson Heights High School
Adam Hermesch Nemaha Valley High School
Ashley Hermesch Nemaha Valley High School
Maggie Jones Nemaha Valley High School
Melissa Kramer Nemaha Valley High School
Vickie Wessel Nemaha Valley High School
Julia Bond Royal Valley High School
Curtis Dreasher Royal Valley High School
Daylon Lambrecht Royal Valley High School
Ben Smith Royal Valley High School
Jacob Streeter Royal Valley High School
Laura Thurman Royal Valley High School
Ragan Frederick Sabetha High School
Lucinda Gruber Sabetha High School
Connie Hewiger Sabetha High School
Renee Lackey Sabetha High School
Jenna Matson Sabetha High School
Brenna Strahm Sabetha High School
Leisha Tennal Sabetha High School
Kari Stallbaumer Wetmore High School
Tim Sperfslage Wetmore High School


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045