Feb. 13, 2004

More Information

Related topics

Contact: Charla Jenkins, University Theatre, (785) 864-2684.

KU theatre and film students win awards at regional festival in Denver

LAWRENCE -- Students, faculty and staff in the University of Kansas Department of Theatre and Film and the University Theatre received numerous awards at the conclusion of the Region V festival of the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival, held Jan. 18 through 23 in Denver.

Sara Armstrong, Cushing, Okla., third-year graduate student, received the Kennedy Center Award for Directing, a national award, and was named Best Director for 10-Minute Plays, a regional award. She will travel to the Kennedy Center in April to take directing classes and to direct one of the 10-minute plays selected for the national festival. During the regional festival, Armstrong directed "Mind Jury," a new play written by J.R. Benmuvhar from the University of Missouri-Kansas City. Armstrong also received a Dramaturgy Award for the Murphy Hall lobby display for "Lulu."

Paul Boesing, a guest artist from Madison, Wis., was recognized for his Original Musical Composition for "As You Like It."

Beth Collins, Sanderstead, England, third-year graduate student, won a second-place Barbizon Award for costumes for "Cabaret." She also received a Certificate of Merit for her scenery and costumes for "Cabaret."

Aaron Dyszelski, Milwaukee, Wis., third-year graduate student, won second place in regional competition for makeup, and honorable mention in the Barbizon competition for costumes for "Lulu."

Matt Jacobson, assistant professor of theatre and film, received a Certificate of Merit for the video he shot for "Lulu."

Robbie Jones, Lawrence first-year graduate student, won second place in the regional competition for costume design and scene design.

Brent Lind, Overland Park senior, won an honorable mention in the Barbizon Undergraduate Competition for his lighting design for "Cabaret."

Jim Peterson, University Theatre technical director, was recognized for judging Kansas City Kansas Community College's load-in of "Flyin' West."

Matt Simon, Overland Park senior, won the Musical Theatre Award in the Irene Ryan Acting Competition.

John Staniunas, assistant professor of theatre and film and artistic director of the University Theatre, was recognized for judging the first round of the Irene Ryan Acting Competition.

Jennifer Stimple, Lawrence junior, won second place in the regional undergraduate competition for scene design.

A Certificate of Merit was awarded to the technical staff of "Cabaret" for consistency of design execution.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045