Feb. 13, 2004

More Information

Contact: Andrea Albright, University Relations, (785) 864-8860.

KU staff members win national awards for 2003 communications projects

LAWRENCE -- Staff members of the University of Kansas and the Kansas University Endowment Association won seven awards last month at the Council for Advancement and Support of Education District VI conference in Denver.

The awards were presented during the conference Jan. 11 through 13. CASE is the professional organization for advancement of professionals at all levels who work in alumni relations, communications and development.

District VI comprises Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wyoming.

Grand Gold

 • Development writing: Anna Kraxner, KU Endowment promotional writer, and Dale Slusser, KU Endowment director of corporate and foundation support, for "The Beren Distinguished Professorship Proposal"


 • Institutional relations project: Brad Kemp, assistant director for public affairs for the KU Natural History Museum and Biodiversity Research Center; Susan Henderson, marketing manager for the Lawrence Convention and Visitors Bureau; and university relations staff members Deb Graber, associate director, Michael Irvin, graphic design coordinator, Doug Koch, photo coordinator, David McKinney, graphic designer, Lois Sierra, publications editor, and Aaron Paden, photographer, for "Jayhawks on Parade"


 • Fund-raising direct mail: Amanda Warren, KU Endowment graphic designer; Lora Jost, illustrator; and the KU Endowment Department of Annual Giving for the spring 2003 direct mail fund-raiser

 • Internal audience tabloid/newsletter: Andrea Albright, university relations editor, for "Oread," KU's faculty and staff newsletter


 • Recognition brochures: Amanda Warren and Kirsten Bosnak, KU Endowment publication editor, and Cathy Ledeker, graphic designer, for the Elizabeth Watkins Society Honor Roll

 • Poster -- one, two or three colors: David McKinney and Lois Sierra, Jayhawk Debate Institute Poster

 • Institutional relations project: Office of University Relations; Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, senior vice provost for academic affairs; Linda Bonebrake, senior administrative specialist with the provost's office; Robin Lehman, director of external relations for the provost's office; Michele Eodice, director of the KU Writing Center; and Henry Fortunato, project director of "This Week in KU History," for promotion of the dedication of the Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics

University relations staff members also won three awards of merit in the 19th annual Admissions Advertising Awards, a national competition sponsored by Admissions Marketing Report magazine.

 • Michael Irvin, designer; Deb Graber and Lois Sierra, editors; Doug Koch, photo editor; R. Steve Dick, Jennifer Larson and Aaron Paden, photographers, for student viewbook, schools with 20,000 or more students

 • Lois Sierra and Deb Graber, editors; David McKinney, Jan Morris Nitcher, Mo Issa and Michael Irvin, designers; Doug Koch, R. Steve Dick, Aaron Paden and Jennifer Larson, photographers; for total recruitment packages, schools with 20,000 or more students

 • Michael Irvin, designer, won with the "Rock Chalk Roadshow" logo for logo/letterhead design, schools with 20,000 or more students


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045