July 13, 2004

Contact: JR Treto, Educational Talent Search, (913) 342-9823.

KU hosts middle school students July 12-17 for Discover Technology Program

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas Educational Talent Search Program has selected 38 Kansas City, Kan., middle school students to participate in the Discover Technology Summer Program July 12 through 17 at KU.

The Discover Technology Program is designed for seventh-grade students who have a strong interest in computer technology and math- and science-related fields. While spending the week on campus, they will have an opportunity to participate in a variety of educational, vocational and recreational activities. Students will be bused to Lawrence each day from Kansas City, Kan.

"The Discover Technology Program is critical for young students because it will enable them to expand their knowledge in math- and science-related careers, as well as increase their skills and abilities in computer technology," said Rebecca Dukstein, director of KU's Educational Talent Search Program. "The students will also develop a strong peer support system, as well as strong relationships with faculty and college student mentors."

The selection of the participants is competitive. The students must attend a Kansas City, Kan., middle school and be nominated by their school counselors for the program. Once nominated, students complete an application, obtain a written recommendation and write a one-page essay describing two possible career choices and the people or events that influenced those career choices.

Educational Talent Search is a federally funded Pre-College TRIO Program, which helps first-generation and low-income middle and high school students prepare for postsecondary education. For more information, contact the Educational Talent Search office at Gateway Tower II, Suite 103, 400 State Ave., Kansas City, KS 66101; (913) 342-9823. JR Treto is middle school academic adviser for the Kansas City, Kan., office.

Discovery Technology participants, all from middle schools in the Kansas City, Kan., Unified School District 500 are:

Argentine Middle School: Blake Gardner, Willie Johnson, Johnny Luster, Joshua Messick and Jessie Moore.

Arrowhead Middle School: Alyssa Boyce, Jared Brailsford, Miriam Gray and Denzal Jones.

Central Middle School: Kevin Franz, Trina McInnis, Andrew Mendoza and Austin Starks.

Coronado Middle School: Tanisha Brooks, Reid Campbell, Fletcher Clardy, Jessica Croft, Kepla Her, Ashyle Horton and DeAundre Rudolph.

Eisenhower Middle School: Spencer Bennett, Daniel Brazil, Aloyisious Horton, Ashley Rivera, Kelly Tiemann and Richard Tucker.

Northwest Middle School: Blair Burgess, Chris Cunningham, Kevaun Lockett, Frank Oakley and Megan Sowers.

Rosedale Middle School: Chris Morales, Angelica Ramos and Joseph Stroble.

West Middle School: Drew Bey, Jerricia Gordon, Saria Letcher and Diona Marks.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045