July 26, 2004

More Information


Related topics



Contact: Dan Lara, University Relations, (785) 864-8855.

Expert list: KU faculty can provide analysis of national political conventions, primary

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas offers a variety of political scientists and policy experts who are ready to provide reaction and analysis during the 2004 election season, including the Democratic National Convention (July 26-29), the Kansas primary election on Aug. 3, and the Republican National Convention (Aug. 30-Sept. 2).

The following is a list of KU faculty who can contribute to news stories, listed by name, title and contact information under their area of expertise. The list will be updated regularly through the election season:

Economic policy

David Burress, associate scientist in KU's Policy Research Institute, (785) 864-9116, d-burress@ku.edu.

General political analysis

Allan Cigler, professor of political science, (785) 864-9050, acigler@ku.edu. Other areas of interest: special interest groups and political parties.

Donald P. Haider-Markel, associate professor of political science, (785) 864-9034, prex@ku.edu. Other areas of interest: political institutions, public opinion and social issues.

Paul E. Johnson, associate professor of political science, (785) 864-9086, pauljohn@ku.edu. Other areas of interest: American government.

Mark Joslyn, associate professor of political science, (785) 864-9046, mjoz@ku.edu. Other areas of interest: voting behavior and public opinion.

Burdett Loomis, professor and chair of political science, (785) 864-9033, bloomis@ku.edu. Other areas of interest: special interest groups.

Health care policy

Michael Fox, associate professor of health policy and management in the KU School of Medicine, (913) 588-2687, mfox2@kumc.edu.

Media coverage and the role of media in politics

David Guth, associate professor and associate dean of journalism, (785) 864-0683, dguth@ku.edu.

Max Utsler, associate professor of journalism, (785) 864-0608, utsler@ku.edu.

Political communication

Mary Banwart, assistant professor of communication studies, (785) 864-5681, mbanwart@ku.edu. Other areas of interest: women in politics, political rhetoric and political advertising.

Diana Carlin, professor of communication studies and dean of the graduate school and international programs, (785) 864-6161, dbcarlin@ku.edu. Other areas of interest: speech writing, convention speeches and the role of political wives.

Presidential history and political convention history

Jonathan Earle, associate professor of history and associate director of the Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics at KU, (785) 864-9446, jonearle@ku.edu.

Jeff Moran, associate professor and chair of history, (785) 864-9461, jefmoran@ku.edu.

Terrorism

David Cook, director of health and technology outreach at the KU Medical Center, (913) 588-2251, dcook@kumc.edu. Areas of interest: Response to terrorism, training health professionals and emerging infections.

U.S. Foreign Policy and the Middle East

Deborah Gerner, professor of political science, (785) 864-9049, gerner@ku.edu.

Philip Schrodt, professor of political science, (785) 864-9024, schrodt@ku.edu.

-30-



This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045