June 21, 2004

More Information


Contact: Burdett Loomis, political science department, (785) 864-9033.

KU honors political science students with annual awards; honor society ceremony

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas political science department recently honored top students with awards and scholarships totaling more than $41,700 at the annual Pi Sigma Alpha initiation and awards banquet May 5 at the Hereford House.

Thirty-one students were inducted into the Gamma chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, a national political science honor society. Criteria for induction include at least junior standing in political science and a 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale in all political science courses. Cumulative GPAs for undergraduates must be at least 3.4, for graduate students at least 3.5. Neither may have a course grade lower than a B.

Burdett Loomis, chair of political science, introduced Gary Reich, associate professor of political science and undergraduate adviser, and Paul Johnson, associate professor of political science and graduate division director, who presented departmental scholarships and special awards.

The scholarship and awards offered included:

 • The $6,000 Joseph P. Harris graduate fellowship, which recognizes an outstanding doctoral candidate in political science
 • The Ethan Allan Award and the Eldon Fields Award, each worth $500, recognizing an outstanding graduating senior in political science
 • Three Gustafson scholarships, each worth $2,026, given to outstanding political science undergraduates
 • The Emmett L. Bennett Scholarship for $1,086, to an outstanding junior in political science
 • Three Harley S. Nelson Family Fund Scholarships of $1,300, each presented to outstanding political science undergraduates
 • Eleven Walter Thompson Scholarships, totaling $23,700 -- nine in amounts from $1,500 to $3,000, awarded to deserving undergraduate and graduate political science students for a total of $22,500, and two Walter Thompson Scholarships of $600, each recognizing study abroad students.
 • Five seniors completing departmental honors received faculty Pi Sigma Alpha awards

Pi Sigma Alpha inductees and political science award winners are listed at www.ur.ku.edu/News/04N/JuneNews/June21/directory.html by hometown, year in school, parents' names and high school, if available, and their awards. Scholarship recipients' names will be released in the fall.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045