June 9, 2004

Contact: John Wilson, Student Senate, (785) 864-3710.

KU Student Senate announces 2004-05 executive staff

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas Student Senate has announced and installed its new executive staff for the 2004-05 school year.

Chosen through an application and interview process, new executive staff members, along with the student body president and vice president, will direct internal senate operations as well as various senate programs.

Student Senate works to enhance the learning experiences of all KU students, both in and out of the classroom. Made up of more than 80 senators representing constituencies all across campus, Student Senate has five standing committees that are open to all students. There also are dozens of university boards and committees with student representatives appointed by the student body president. Student Senate plays a significant role in shaping policy and procedures that affect the entire university community.

For more information, call (785) 864-3710 or visit www.ku.edu/~senate.

Executive staff members, hometowns, major and year in school, parents' names and high schools attended are:

From Leawood
Jeff Dunlap, senior in political science, son of John and Anne Dunlap; Blue Valley North High School; student body vice president.

From Overland Park
Timothy Akright, senior in public administration, son of Brent and Becky Akright; St. Thomas Aquinas High School; KU on Wheels transportation coordinator.

From Prairie Village
Lauren Pierson, sophomore in English and political science, daughter of George and Jo Pierson; Shawnee Mission East High School; Student Senate executive secretary.

From Shawnee
Katie Wolff, senior in political science with a minor in French, daughter of Rick and Shelley Wolff; Shawnee Mission Northwest High School; Student Legislative Awareness Board director.

From Wichita and Friendswood, Texas
Bryan Young, Friendswood, Texas, junior in business and pre-law, son of Stephen Young, Wichita; Wichita Southeast High School; student body treasurer.

From Scottsdale
Erica Padish, sophomore in political science, daughter of James and Gay Padish; Chaparral High School; student body assistant treasurer.

From Centennial
Mark Lyda, senior in music theory and English literature, son of Donna and Paige Lyda; Cherry Creek High School; Center for Community Outreach co-director.

From Bellevue
Steve Munch, junior in sociology and history, son of Mike and Joli Munch; Bellevue East High School; student body president.

From Andover
Kathryn Jensen, senior in mathematics, international studies and Spanish, daughter of Steve and Dianne Jensen; Anoka, Minn., High School; Center for Community Outreach co-director.

From Lawton
John Wilson, junior in graphic design, son of Bill and Susan Wilson; Eisenhower Senior High School; Student Senate communications director.

From Friendswood and Wichita, Kan.
Bryan Young. See Wichita, Kan.

From Highland Village
Arthur Jones, junior in American studies, son of Scott Jones and Marylou Reece; Marcus High School; Student Senate executive committee chair.

From Plano
Jason Boots, junior in mechanical engineering and business, son of Gary and Shirley Boots; Plano Senior High School; Student Senate community affairs director.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045