March 11, 2004

Kansas Honors Program

Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 60 high school seniors from 6 southwest counties at Liberal March 31

LAWRENCE -- Students from 10 Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, March 31, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 60 seniors from high schools in Grant, Haskell, Morton, Seward, Stanton and Stevens counties will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 7 p.m. dinner reception at Seward County Community College, Student Union 2nd Floor, 1801 N. Kansas, Liberal.

Honorees are listed below.

Robert Hemenway, KU chancellor, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representative Chris Lazzarino, associate editor of Kansas Alumni magazine, is in charge of award presentations.

The program will cost parents and alumni $10 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Al and Donna Shank, Liberal, will serve as coordinators for the site and for Morton and Seward counties. Jeff and Pam Menzie, Ulysses, will serve as the Grant and Stanton county coordinators. Sterling and Jackie Hall, Sublette, will serve as the Haskell County coordinators, and Erick and Debbie Hordling, Hugoton, will serve as the Stevens County coordinators.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 89,113 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

First Name Last Name High School
Dustin Fletcher Elkhart High School
Sheena Fowler Elkhart High School
Chantz Martin Elkhart High School
Rachel Raugewitz Elkhart High School
Kendrea Bensel Hugoton High School
Kilah Bond Hugoton High School
Bryce Forward Hugoton High School
Chelsie Harper Hugoton High School
Brittany Hill Hugoton High School
Jenna Kane Hugoton High School
David Leidig Hugoton High School
Yuvina Barboza Liberal High School
Katrina Bourell Liberal High School
Stephanie Grote Liberal High School
Michael Hanson Liberal High School
Kassi King Liberal High School
Denton Kleiner Liberal High School
Stephen Lewis Liberal High School
Ryan Madden Liberal High School
Katie Mc Bryde Liberal High School
Erin Muse Liberal High School
Whitney Myers Liberal High School
Mariko Patterson Liberal High School
Jose Portillo Liberal High School
Chad Ralston Liberal High School
Lila Reyes Liberal High School
Patricia Rodriguez Liberal High School
Noemi Rueda Liberal High School
Alaina Sill Liberal High School
Brittany Streiff Liberal High School
Britton Winkler Liberal High School
Tenae York Liberal High School
Brandi Broaddus Moscow High School
Hayley Harvey Moscow High School
Whitney Samuelson Moscow High School
Grant Chesbro Rolla High School
Weston Fitzgerald Rolla High School
Andrea Chancey Satanta High School
Jayme Dunn Satanta High School
Braxton Fullerton Sublette High School
Ashley Hefner Sublette High School
Brooke Holloway Sublette High School
Frank Friesen Southwestern Heights High School
Taly Jacobs Southwestern Heights High School
Angela Krause Southwestern Heights High School
Bethani Lee Southwestern Heights High School
Brian Miller Southwestern Heights High School
Clint Kendrick Stanton County High School
Shannon Walker Stanton Country High School
Trent Wilkerson Stanton County High School
Zach Anderson Ulysses High School
Rykki Belt Ulysses High School
Adam Dees Ulysses High School
Cheryl Egley Ulysses High School
J.R. Hacker Ulysses High School
Chase Ketchum Ulysses High School
Melanie Kreie Ulysses High School
Kelsey Patterson Ulysses High School
Kaleb Sneyd Ulysses High School
Abby Trejo Ulysses High School
Kelsie Trotman Ulysses High School


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045