March 5, 2004

Kansas Honors Program

Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 23 high school seniors from Atchison County on March 17

LAWRENCE -- Students from three Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, March 17, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 23 seniors from high schools in Atchison County will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner reception at Atchison Heritage Conference Center, 710 S. Ninth St., Atchison.

Honorees are listed below.

Stuart Bell, dean of engineering at KU, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representative Carolyn Barnes, director of the Kansas Honors Program, is in charge of award presentations.

The program will cost parents and alumni $13.50 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Chad and Carri Ball, Atchison, will serve as the site and Atchison County coordinators.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 89,113 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

First Name Last Name High School
Jon-Charles Armstrong Atchison County Community High School
Aaron Lanter Atchison County Community High School
Andrew Lanter Atchison County Community High School
Jenalea Myers Atchison County Community High School
Justin Schwarzer Atchison County Community High School
Tyler Sheeley Atchison County Community High School
Alison Young Atchison County Community High School
Phoebe Ahles-Iverson Atchison High School
Kenneth Compton Atchison High School
Alexander Denton Atchison High School
Tamara De Rossi Atchison High School
Martha Dowell Atchison High School
Timothy Hoffman Atchison High School
Jessica Threet Atchison High School
Kristen Vanderweide Atchison High School
Marisa Wilson-Frails Atchison High School
Lindsay Zumbrunn Atchison High School
Brock Banks Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Cameron Feek Maur Hill-Mount Academy
David Kang Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Kathryn Krusemark Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Jessica Langan Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Emily Prohaska Maur Hill-Mount Academy


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045