May 7, 2004

Contact: Alison Watkins, Graduate School & International Programs, (785) 864-6161.

Graduate school honors outstanding graduate students, faculty today

LAWRENCE -- Students and faculty will be honored at the annual University of Kansas Graduate School awards ceremony at 3:30 p.m. Friday, May 7, in the Kansas Room, Kansas Union.

Chancellor Robert Hemenway and Diana Carlin, dean of the Graduate School and international programs, will recognize outstanding accomplishments in graduate and professional education at KU.

Two doctoral students will receive a Carlin Graduate Teaching Assistant Award: Jamel Sandidge, in ecology and evolutionary biology, and Matthew Hollrah, in English.

Five doctoral students will receive an Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award: Leslie Bayers, in Spanish and Portuguese; Jeff Bremer, in history; Jennifer Ivie, in quantitative psychology; Martha Mundis, in art history; and Martina Musteen, in business.

Roksana Alavi, doctoral student in philosophy, will receive the Graduate Student Award for Distinguished Service.

Karen Stanze, graduate studies director at the KU Medical Center, and John Augusto, former assistant dean of the Graduate School, will receive the Graduate School Dean's Award.

The College of Liberal Arts and Science will award the Byron Alexander Graduate Mentor Award to Rick Snyder, who is the M. Erik Wright distinguished professor of psychology, and the John C. Wright Graduate Mentor Award to Linda Stone-Ferrier, professor of art history.

The Chancellor's Outstanding Mentor Award will be announced at the ceremony.

"This event is the only celebration on campus that recognizes the accomplishments of graduate students and faculty and celebrates the many accomplishments within graduate education at KU," said Carlin. "Having graduate students and faculty who excel at the level of the honorees makes KU a special place."

The award-winning graduate students and their hometown information (when available) are:

From Lawrence
Roksana Alavi, doctoral student in philosophy; Graduate Student Award for Distinguished Service.

From Osawatomie
Martha Mundis, doctoral candidate in art history, daughter of the late Vivien and James Fowler; Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award.

From Bakersfield
Jeff Bremer, doctoral candidate in history, son of Stephanie and Robert Bremer; Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award.

From Milford
Leslie Bayers, doctoral candidate in Spanish and Portuguese, daughter of Mary and Frank Bayers; Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant award.

From Stillwater
Matthew Hollrah, doctoral student in English; Carlin Graduate Teaching Award.

From Tulsa
Jennifer Ivie, doctoral candidate, graduate teaching assistant in quantitative psychology and graduate research assistant for the Schiefelbusch Institute for Life Span Studies, Research Design and Analysis unit; Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award.

From Madison Heights
Jamel Sandidge, doctoral student in ecology and evolutionary biology, son of Leon and Joan Sandidge; Carlin Graduate Teaching Assistant Award.

From Klatovy
Martina Musteen, doctoral student in business, daughter of Miluska and Ing. Miroslav Cerny; Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045