Contact: Kaitlin Connealy, Student Union Activities, (785) 864-2429

Seniors from Bolivia, Fort Scott win Ex.C.E.L. awards at KU

LAWRENCE -- Winners of the 13th annual Excellence in Community Education and Leadership, or Ex.C.E.L., Award at the University of Kansas were announced at halftime ceremonies of the KU-Kansas State University homecoming game Oct. 9 in Memorial Stadium at KU.

Two seniors, Gaston Araoz of La Paz, Bolivia, and Susan Leigh Henry of Fort Scott, won the annual $500 scholarships given to one male and one female student for achievement and leadership.

The Student Union Activities and the Board of Class Officers established the Ex.C.E.L. Award program in 1991. An SUA and Board of Class Officers selection committee chose finalists on the basis of leadership, effective communication skills, involvement in the KU community, academic scholarship and ability to work with a variety of students and organizations. Winners also must work on a leadership conference during the school year in conjunction with the KU Student Involvement and Leadership Center.

To be eligible, applicants must be full-time undergraduate students with an overall grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. Each student completed an application and participated in an interview, and 10 finalists were selected.

The winners and finalists and their hometown information:

From Fort Scott
Susan Leigh Henry, senior majoring in communication studies with a minor in leadership; daughter of Diana Henry. Susan is a member of the Diversity Peer Education Team, on the Dean's honor roll and recruitment vice president for the KU Panhellenic Association. She is a Fort School High School graduate.

From Leawood
Allison Mezger, senior majoring in human biology; daughter of Theodore and Jacki Mezger. Allison is a Mount Oread Scholar, former captain of the KU Dance Team and a member of Chi Omega sorority. She is a Blue Valley North High School graduate.
Tyler James Waldorf, senior majoring in architectural engineering; son of Debra Waldorf. Tyler is president of Beta Theta Pi fraternity, a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and a past member of the Homecoming Steering Committee. He is a Blue Valley North High School graduate.

From Wichita
Lauren Marie Stewart, senior majoring in English; daughter of Gregory and Helen Stewart. Lauren is the Traditions coordinator and past president of Student Union Activities, a National Merit scholar and a co-columnist for the University Daily Kansan. She is a Wichita Southeast High School graduate.

From Scottsdale
William Michael Santoro, senior majoring in communication studies; son of Joseph and Lynda Santoro. William is the president of the Interfraternity Council; the Rock Chalk Revue Director for his fraternity, Phi Kappa Psi; and a LeaderShape graduate. He is a graduate of Chaparral High School in Scottsdale.

From Centennial
Mark Lyda, senior majoring in music theory and English literature; son of Paige and Donna Lyda of Engelwood. Mark is co-director of the Center for Community Outreach and a member of the Student Senate Executive staff and the Civic Literacy committee. He is a graduate of Cherry Creek High School in Engelwood.

From Norfolk
Corinne Deuel, senior majoring in journalism (strategic communications emphasis); daughter of James and Nancy Deuel. Corinne is involved in the St. Lawrence Catholic Campus Center, a member of Mortar Board and president of Kappa Alpha Theta sorority. She is a Norfolk High School graduate.
From Lincoln
Alex Raines, senior majoring in history and pre-medicine; son of Ed and Terri Raines. Alex is involved with the House that Greeks Built, a member of the "Dream Team" that helps the KU women's basketball team practice and a member of Theta Chi fraternity. He is a graduate of Lincoln Southeast High School.

From Fairfax
Anna Marie Clovis, senior majoring in journalism and Spanish; daughter of Marsha N. Clovis. Anna is president of Alpha Chi Omega sorority, the Opinion section co-editor for the University Daily Kansan and a member of the Golden Key Honor Society. She is a Woodland High School graduate.

From La Paz
Gaston Araoz, senior majoring in political science and international studies; son of Rebeca Riveros Dimberg and Gaston Araoz Tabolara. Gaston is a member of Battenfeld Scholarship Hall, past president of the International Student Association, president of the International Student Ambassador program and serves in the Student Senate. He is a graduate of the University of Privada in Cochabamba.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045