More Information

Contact: John Scarffe, KU Endowment Association, (785) 832-7336

KU Endowment Association Board of Trustees elects 5 new members

LAWRENCE --The Board of Trustees of the Kansas University Endowment Association elected five new trustees when it assembled today for its 113th annual meeting at Regnier Hall on KU's Edwards Campus in Overland Park.

The board comprises up to 75 trustees who represent and support the University of Kansas around the country. Their duties include reviewing reports on fund raising and asset management and serving on committees that provide advice and recommendations for KU Endowment programs and activities.

The new trustees are Ray D. Evans, Prairie Village; Kent C. McCarthy, Incline Village, Nev.; John C. Shawver, Wichita; Michael G. Shinn, Shaker Heights, Ohio; and Thomas G. Wiggans, Atherton, Calif.

Ray D. Evans graduated from KU in 1982 with a bachelor˙s degree in business administration and in 1984 with an M.B.A. He is a managing partner with Pegasus Capital Management in Overland Park. As a member of the Kansas Alumni Association, he has served as a local chapter officer and a member of the Rock Chalk Ball Steering Committee. In 1996, he received the association˙s Mildred Clodfelter Alumni Award for sustained volunteer service to KU at the local level. He is a member of the Williams Educational Fund.

Kent C. McCarthy graduated from KU in 1980 with a bachelor's degree in business administration and accounting and in 1981 with a master's in business. He is portfolio manager for the Jayhawk China Fund Ltd., an equity fund he established that specializes in Asian equities. He is a life member of the Kansas Alumni Association and a member of the School of Business Board of Advisers and has served on the Edwards Campus Advisory Board. He established and taught the course in applied portfolio management at the School of Business and received the school's Henry Bubb Award for outstanding teacher. In May 2004 he received the School of Business Distinguished Alumnus Award. He is a life member of the Chancellors Club.

John C. Shawver studied business at KU with the Class of 1984 before joining his family business. He is president of Stelbar Oil Corp., an oil and gas production and exploration company in Wichita. He is a member of the Williams Educational Fund. His KU First commitment supports athletics, business, chemical and petroleum engineering and the Chancellors Club.

Michael G. Shinn graduated from KU in 1966 with a degree in aerospace engineering. He is a certified financial planner with Shinn Financial Services in Shaker Heights. He is a life member of the Kansas Alumni Association and has served on its National Board of Directors. In September 2004, he received the Association's Fred Ellsworth Medallion, which honors individuals who have provided unique and significant service to KU. He also has served on the School of Engineering Advisory Board. He is a member of the Engineering Committee for KU First and a life member of the Chancellors Club.

Thomas G. Wiggans graduated from KU in 1975 with a bachelor's degree in pharmacy. He is president and CEO of Connectics Corp. of Palo Alto, Calif., a specialty biopharmaceutical company that develops and markets products in the dermatology field. He is a life member of the Kansas Alumni Association. He serves on the Athletics Committee for KU First and is a life member of the Chancellors Club. During KU First, he has supported pharmacy and National Merit Scholarships, the Dole Institute and facilities for athletics.

The Kansas University Endowment Association is conducting KU First on behalf of KU through 2004 to raise funds for scholarships, fellowships, professorships, capital projects and program support. KU Endowment is an independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fund-raising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment is the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university and one of the largest.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045