Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 34 high school seniors from Sumner County at Wellington Sept. 15

LAWRENCE -- Students from seven Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, Sept. 15, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 34 seniors from Sumner County high schools, will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner program at the Regent Theatre, 114 W. Lincoln, Wellington.

Honorees' names are listed below.

Kim Wilcox, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, will speak. Former chancellor Del Shankel, interim president and chief executive officer of the Kansas Alumni Association, is in charge of award presentations. Shankel, professor emeritus of biology, twice served as interim chancellor for KU, in 1994-95 and in 1980-81.

The dinner program will cost parents and alumni $10 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

David Carr will serve as the site coordinator, and Cathy Mitchell will serve as the Sumner County coordinator. Carr and Mitchell are from Wellington.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. Over the years, the program has honored 89, 875 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

FirstName LastName HighSchool
Kayla Adams Argonia High School
Skyler Boatright Argonia High School
Krista Dopfel Belle Plaine High School
Kelley Emmons Belle Plaine High School
Melissa Fergen Belle Plaine High School
Lucas Lott Belle Plaine High School
Anna Macy Belle Plaine High School
Jessica Rogers Belle Plaine High School
Adam Varner Belle Plaine High School
Robbin Bannister Caldwell High School
Cayla Potts Caldwell High School
Tamara Andra Conway Springs High School
Alicia Brozovich Conway Springs High School
Brittany Love Conway Springs High School
Carissa Osner Conway Springs High School
Catherine Rausch Conway Springs High School
Darrin Seiwert Conway Springs High School
Ashley Emley Oxford High School
Matt Lowry Oxford High School
Laken Mapel Oxford High School
Kellen Hughes South Haven High School
Sarah Cooney Wellington High School
Samantha Favinger Wellington High School
Katie Ford Wellington High School
Megan Glover Wellington High School
Katie Leftwich Wellington High School
Ben Norris Wellington High School
Jennifer Ramsey Wellington High School
Jacqueline Rico Wellington High School
Nathan Sauzek Wellington High School
Dani Soria Wellington High School
Andrew Spencer Wellington High School
Amy Troutman Wellington High School
Victoria Volosin Wellington High School


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045