More Information

Contact: J. Schafer, Kansas Public Radio (785) 864-2246; jschafer@ku.edu; Phil Wilke, (785) 864-5016; pwilke@ku.edu

KU's Kansas Public Radio wins 5 state broadcasting association awards

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas' Kansas Public Radio took home five news awards, including three first-place awards, in the yearly contest sponsored by the Kansas Association of Broadcasters.

KPR's "All Things Considered" host Laura Lorson won first place for best newscast. KPR's J. Schafer took second place in that category.

Statehouse bureau chief Peter Hancock won first place in the single topic news event category for his coverage of the debate over gay marriage.

Sports correspondent Greg Echlin was awarded first place in the sports feature category for coverage of the basketball season-ticket saga at Allen Fieldhouse.

"The KPR staff's hard work has paid off," Schafer said. "To be recognized by your peers for high-quality work is a testament to the dedication of the news department."

The weekly health series "Kansas Health: A Prescription for Change" received a second-place award for in-depth news reporting in a series. Bryan Thompson is the series reporter and producer, and it is edited by Schafer and Lorson.

KPR will receive its awards at the KAB convention in October in Overland Park.

KPR, licensed to the University of Kansas, broadcasts on KANU-FM 91.5 in Lawrence, KANH-FM 89.7 in Emporia, KANV-FM 91.3 in Olsburg-Junction City and K210CR-FM 89.9 in Atchison. KPR also can be heard on the World Wide Web at http://www.kpr.ku.edu.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045