Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 53 high-school seniors from Chautauqua and Cowley counties

LAWRENCE -- Students from seven Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, Sept. 29, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 53 seniors from Chautauqua and Cowley county high schools will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. program at the Winfield Country Club, 2916 Country Club Road.

Honorees' names are listed below.

Caroline Jewers, associate professor of French and Italian, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representatives Kelly Cerny, director of chapters and constituent programs, and Heath Peterson, director of the Adams Alumni Center, are in charge of award presentations.

The dinner program will cost parents and alumni $14 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Lucy Herlocker Freeman, Winfield, will be coordinator for the site and for Cowley County; and Tim Hills, Sedan, will be the Chautauqua County coordinator.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 89,875 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

FirstName LastName HighSchool
Antoinette Abington Arkansas City High School
Levi Anstine Arkansas City High School
Jhesi Bain Arkansas City High School
Andy Bohn Arkansas City High School
Kassidy Carson Arkansas City High School
Conner Crumbliss Arkansas City High School
Laura Durham Arkansas City High School
Laura Hewitt Arkansas City High School
Tiffany Hutchinson Arkansas City High School
Alexis Johnson Arkansas City High School
Amy Johnson Arkansas City High School
Shannon Lawson Arkansas City High School
Jonathan Maslen Arkansas City High School
Diane Metzinger Arkansas City High School
Eric Salcedo Arkansas City High School
Mehvash Shazada Arkansas City High School
Jayme Shriver Arkansas City High School
James Swanson Arkansas City High School
Kristine Thompson Arkansas City High School
Sean Waugh Arkansas City High School
Hannah Burdette Cedar Vale High School
Jon Champlin Cedar Vale High School
Effie Cooper Cedar Vale High School
Blake Mackey Central High School
Dyan Morland Central High School
Joel Wheeler Central High School
Sara Wonser Central High School
Heather Helsel Dexter High School
Libby Allen Sedan High School
Laura Allison Sedan High School
Stacy Loftin Sedan High School
Maggie Schoonover Udall High School
Olivia Smith Udall High School
Derek Bowman Winfield High School
Brandon Brooks Winfield High School
Jonathan Grow Winfield High School
Anthony Horton Winfield High School
Kyle Lawson Winfield High School
Fawn Kidder Winfield High School
Elsabeth Knackstedt Winfield High School
Crystal Kora Winfield High School
Joshua Lykes Winfield High School
Daniel Meysing Winfield High School
Caitlin Muret Winfield High School
Lauren Pettey Winfield High School
Sarah Porter Winfield High School
Jake Pray Winfield High School
Jeffrey Rogosch Winfield High School
Peggy Roths Winfield High School
Luke Thompson Winfield High School
Susan Wasinger Winfield High School
Ashley Watt Winfield High School
Julie Wilke Winfield High School


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045