More Information

Contact: Dan Lara, University Relations, (785) 864-8855

Anne Walling becomes latest $5K Kemper Award winner

LAWRENCE -- Anne Walling is the latest KU faculty member to receive a Kemper Award. Walling is associate dean of faculty development and professor of family and community medicine at the University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita. The $5,000 prize recognizes excellence in teaching and advising.

Since 1983, every medical student on the Wichita campus has come in contact with Walling. She has assisted students in the classroom and co-authored or cooperated with many on research and publication. Students and colleagues compliment Walling for her commitment to mentoring students and her excellence in the classroom, for which she received the Student Voice Excellence in Teaching Award in 2001.

Since the first day of classes at KU this fall, 19 professors have received Kemper Awards. One more presentation is scheduled for Tuesday, Sept. 28.

The W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence recognize outstanding teachers and advisers at KU as determined by a seven-member selection committee. Now in the ninth year of a 10-year program, the awards were established by a $500,000 fund from the William T. Kemper Foundation, Commerce Bank-Trustee, and $500,000 in matching funds from the KU Endowment Association.

The foundation was established in 1989, after Kemper's death. It supports Midwest communities and concentrates on initiatives in education, health and human services, civic improvements and the arts.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045