Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760

KU to honor 59 high school seniors on Oct. 7 in Hays

LAWRENCE -- Students from 10 Kansas high schools will be honored Thursday, Oct. 7, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 59 seniors from Ellis, Rooks, Russell and Trego county high schools will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. program at the Hays High School, 2300 East 13th St.

Honorees' names are listed below.

Kenneth L. Audus, dean of the School of Pharmacy, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representative Carolyn Barnes, director of the Kansas Honors Program, is in charge of award presentations.

The dinner program will cost parents and alumni $9.50 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Shiela Brening, Hays, will be the site coordinator. Other coordinators are Lisa Karlin, Hays, for Ellis County; Tom and Cassie Nuckols, Plainville, for Rooks County; Nancy Lane, Russell, for Russell County; and Jim and Kathy Cleland, WaKeeney, for Trego County.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 89,875 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

First Name Last Name High School
Trista Fuchs Ellis High School
Clay King Ellis High School
Jessica Spinelli Ellis High School
David Aschwege Hays High School
Kathryn Basye Hays High School
Clayton Betts Hays High School
Bryce Bishop Hays High School
Carlie Bittel Hays High School
Kelli Bryant Hays High School
Rachel Debes Hays High School
Jay Dreiling Hays High School
Jordan Dreiling Hays High School
Danielle Gabel Hays High School
Justin Groff Hays High School
Nicole Hammerschmidt Hays High School
Michael Hester Hays High School
Keslie Kandt Hays High School
Erin Klaus Hays High School
Abigail Kruse Hays High School
Mark Meier Hays High School
Carlee Parke Hays High School
Rebecca Pfannenstiel Hays High School
Kathryn Sjoholm Hays High School
Samantha Staab Hays High School
Anastasia Straub Hays High School
Nicole Tillman Hays High School
Michelle Trump Hays High School
Haylee Vitztum Hays High School
Lindsey Weber Hays High School
Ethan Young Hays High School
Monica Walker Lucas-Luray High School
Chet Rudman Palco High School
Kristen Dinkel Plainville High School
Heather Schonthaler Plainville High School
Nicole Wessel Plainville High School
Adam Carey Russell High School
Bethany Dougherty Russell High School
Courtney Jones Russell High School
Valerie Mahoney Russell High School
Jessica Scarborough Russell High School
Karen Seirer Russell High School
Britney Walter Russell High School
Allison Baughman Stockton High School
Bethany Dix Stockton High School
Blaise Kriley Stockton High School
Rachel Alexander Thomas More Prep-Marion High School
Christina Deines Thomas More Prep-Marion High School
Nicholas Felder Thomas More Prep-Marion High School
Ryan Pfeifer Thomas More Prep-Marion High School
Jacinta Stecklein Thomas More Prep-Marion High School
Kelly Thomas Thomas More Prep-Marion High School
Benjamin Whitmer Thomas More Prep-Marion High School
Kacey Armbruster Trego Community High School
Crystal Geist Trego Community High School
Heather Morton Trego Community High School
Brittney Parke Trego Community High School
Jessica Ummel Trego Community High School
Anna Dechant Victoria High School
Jessica Kuhn Victoria High School


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045