More Information

Related topics

Contact: Dan Lara, University Relations, (785) 864-8855, dlara@ku.edu.

KU announces four winners of $10,000 Higuchi Awards for research

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas has announced four recipients of the 2004 Higuchi/Endowment Research Achievement Awards. Each winner will receive a $10,000 award to further research efforts.

The awards were announced Thursday, Sept. 9, at the annual Faculty-Staff Convocation in Budig Hall. KU Chancellor Robert Hemenway will officially present the awards to the winners in October.

The professors chosen to receive this year's awards are:

--Michael J. Soares, professor of pathology and laboratory medicine and a faculty member with KU's Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology at the University of Kansas Medical Center, will receive the Dolph Simons Award in biomedical sciences.

--William Tuttle, professor of American studies at KU, will receive the Balfour Jeffery Research Award in humanities and social sciences.

--Akira Yamamoto, professor of anthropology and linguistics at KU, will receive the Irvin Youngberg Research Award in applied sciences.

--C. Lewis Cocke, professor of physics at Kansas State University, will receive the Olin Petefish Award in basic sciences.

ĘBesides announcing the Higuchi Award winners, James A. Roberts, vice provost for research and president of the KU Center for Research, announced the creation of a new award that will be presented annually to a non-tenure track researcher from the Lawrence campus. The Higuchi Awards are given only to tenure-track faculty.

The Higuchi Awards were established in 1981 by Takeru Higuchi, KU distinguished professor of chemistry and pharmacy and chair of pharmaceutical chemistry, and his wife, Aya. Higuchi stipulated that faculty members at all Kansas regents institutions be eligible. The annual awards are named for former officers of the KU Endowment Association who were instrumental in bringing Higuchi to KU and who worked to further KU's overall research program.

Recipients may use their awards for research materials, summer salaries, fellowship matching funds, research assistance or other research-related support.

Michael J. Soares
Soares received his doctorate in reproductive biology from the University of Hawaii in 1981.

Soares, director of the newly established Institute of Maternal-Fetal Biology at KUMC, is a leading scholar in reproductive endocrinology. He has received the National Research Service Award Postdoctoral Fellowship, the Griff T. Ross Award from the Endocrine Society and the Chancellor˙s Club Research Award from KU. He also was a distinguished visiting scientist at the University of Tokyo.

William Tuttle
Tuttle, who received his doctorate in American history from the University of Wisconsin in 1967, is recognized for his interpretations of African American history. His 1993 book, "Daddy's Gone to War: The Second World War in the Lives of America's Children," was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize and named a "Notable Book of the Year" by the New York Times.

He is a fellow in the Society of American Historians and has been the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Humanities and the American Council of Learned Societies. He also has served fellowships at Johns Hopkins University, Harvard University, Stanford University and the University of California, Berkeley.

Akira Yamamoto
Yamamoto received his doctorate in anthropology from Indiana University in 1974. He researches issues of endangered languages and their revitalization. He has developed programs in which linguists train tribal members to be effective teachers of their own languages. He has collected language data to develop detailed grammars and dictionaries of endangered languages and has published grammars of the Hualapai and Kickapoo languages.

He has received a W.T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence and the Byron T. Shutz Distinguished Teaching Award and has been named Outstanding Linguistics Educator by the International Conference of Native American Language Issues Institute.

C. Lewis Cocke
Cocke, who received his doctorate in physics from the California Institute of Technology in 1967, is recognized as one of the world˙s top researchers in ion-atom collisions. He is associate director of the James R. MacDonald Laboratory at Kansas State, where he investigates interactions among atoms, ions, molecules and electromagnetic radiation.

He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and has served as a senior fellow with the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in Germany. He has received the Max Planck Research Award.


This site is maintained by University Relations, the public relations office for the University of Kansas Lawrence campus. Information may be reused without permission; images may be reused with notice of copyright but not altered.

 • Contact us: kurelations@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045