Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
April 13, 2005
Contact: Gloria Prothe, math department, (785) 864-3651.

KU hosts first Kansas Collegiate Mathematics Competition

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas hosted the first Kansas Collegiate Mathematics Competition in March as part of a Kansas section meeting of the Mathematical Association of America. Nine participating colleges and universities sent 14 teams and 31 students for the statewide contest offering both team and individual recognition awards. Team winners received plaques, and individuals received $600 in cash prizes for finishing first, second and third.

A three-student team from Kansas State University, Manhattan, won the top prize, and teams from KU won second and third. Second-place KU team members were Daniel Gomez Garcia Alvestegui, La Paz, Bolivia, sophomore; Pedro Lei, Macau senior; and Andrew Womack, Lawrence senior. On the KU third-place team were Jordan Fisher, Derby junior; Yujie Li, Shen Zhen, Guang Dong, China, junior; and Brian Moehring, Olathe sophomore.

Andrew Womack, Lawrence senior, won the $100 third-place individual award. K-State students won both the $300 first place and $200 second-place individual awards.

Schools participating besides KU and K-State were Baker University, Baldwin; Benedictine College, Atchison; Cowley County Community College, Arkansas City; Emporia State University; Fort Hays State University; Pittsburg State University; and Washburn University, Topeka.

The intercollegiate invitational math competition was one of several math-related events held March 18 and 19 in Lawrence, when faculty and students from Kansas colleges and universities met to give talks on math education and research. A reception celebrated the 100th birthday of G. Baley Price, professor emeritus of mathematics, with a slide presentation highlighting his 70 years of teaching at KU. Oscar Gonzalez, assistant professor of mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin, was the keynote banquet speaker following the reception. Estela Gavosto, KU associate chair of mathematics, organized the weekend events.

KU student winners, their hometowns, majors, parents, high schools (when available) and awards are:

From Lawrence
Andrew Womack, senior in mathematics and physics, son of James and Kathleen Womack; Rockhurst High School, Kansas City, Mo.; second-place team member and third-place individual prize winner.

From Olathe
Brian Moehring, sophomore in mathematics and physics, son of Rick and Dene Moehring; Olathe South High School; third-place team member.

From Derby
Jordan Fisher, junior in mathematics, son of Barbara Fisher; Derby High School; third-place team member.

From La Paz
Daniel Gomez Garcia Alvestegui, sophomore in electrical engineering with a mathematics minor, son of Rene Gomez Garcia and Patricia Alvestegui; second-place team member.

From Macau
Pedro Lei, senior in mathematics, son of Kok Hon Lei; second-place team member.
From Shen Zhen, Guang Dong
Yujie Li, junior in biology, mathematics and molecular biosciences, daughter of Zhuo Cheng and Zhou Li; third-place team member.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045