Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
April 19, 2005
Contact: Kathy Rose-Mockry, Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center, (785) 864-3552.

Kansas Gov. Sebelius to receive award at KU women's program April 21

LAWRENCE -- Kansas Gov. Kathleen Sebelius will not only speak but will also receive the 2005 Pioneer Award at the University of Kansas' annual Women's Recognition Program at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 21, in the Kansas Union ballroom.

Sebelius will join 13 more Kansas women being honored with annual awards including four women who will be inducted into the KU Women's Hall of Fame:

- Polly Roth Bales, president of the Dane Hansen Museum in Logan and 1942 KU graduate in music. The Bales Organ Recital Hall at KU is named in her honor. As a founding member of the Fine Arts Advisory Board, she provided leadership for a new performing arts venue, the Lied Center, which replaced an aging Hoch Auditorium. She serves on the KU Endowment Association board of trustees and the Kansas Alumni Association board of directors. She has supported not only fine arts but also numerous other campus entities, including the Spencer Museum of Art, University Libraries, the Chancellors Club, the marching band, the Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics, the Honors Program and athletics. She and her late husband, Dane Hansen, funded the reflecting pool fountain at the Dole Institute. In addition, their donations established the Bales Teaching Professorship in Organ and the Bales Organ Scholarship Fund.

- Beverly Smith Billings, president of Alvamar Inc. in Lawrence (since 2003) and president and managing broker of Alvamar Realty Inc. (since 1991). She serves on a number of community boards including Alvamar Inc. board of directors, KU Endowment Association board of directors and Women Philanthropists for KU. She earned a bachelor's degree from KU in 1968 and a master's degree in 1971.

- Annette Stanton, senior research scientist with the Center for Psychoneuroimmunology at the University of California-Los Angeles and former KU faculty member in psychology. Stanton received her KU bachelor's degree in 1977 and returned to KU to teach after receiving both a master's degree and a doctorate in clinical psychology from the University of Connecticut.

- Dr. Linda Duston Warren, a primary care physician in Hanover and member of the Kansas Alumni Association board of directors since 1997. She earned both a bachelor's degree (1966) and medical degree (1971) from KU.
In all, women will be recognized in 11 categories recognizing the outstanding contributions and achievements of female KU students, staff, faculty and alumnae. The Pioneer Award goes to an exemplary Kansas woman who has made historic contributions of local or statewide significance. The KU Women's Hall of Fame has been inducting women since 1970.

Susan Twombly, KU professor of teaching and leadership, will receive the Outstanding Woman Educator award, and Judy Ross, secretary in the anthropology department for graduate programs, the Outstanding Woman Staff Member award.

KU's Commission on the Status of Women and the Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center at KU sponsor the Women's Recognition Program.

Student award recipients are listed by their hometowns, awards, level and major, and parents' names (when available).

From Pittsburg
Kristin Marie Wilson, Outstanding Woman Student in Community Service, is a senior in human biology. She is the daughter of Marvin and Mary Wilson and is a graduate of St. Mary's-Colgan High School.

From Perry
Roberta J. Pokphanh, Outstanding Nontraditional Woman Student, is a doctoral student in art history. She is the daughter of Robert and Marcella Gorden. She received a bachelor's degree in history of art in 1994 from KU and is a graduate of Lawrence High School.

From Leavenworth
Alexandra Knudson Baldwin, Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership award is a medical and Ph.D. candidate in the School of Medicine. Baldwin is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Wayne Knudson. She graduated from Leavenworth Senior High School and cum laude from the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va. She received a one-year fellowship in a neuroscience research laboratory at the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md., in 2001.

From Portland
Sara E. Cox, Outstanding Woman Student in Partnership, is a master's degree student in higher education. She is the daughter of Sue and Phillip Cox of Portland and has a bachelor's degree from Syracuse University in New York.

From Edina
Caroline Smith, Outstanding Woman Student in Athletics, is a senior in human biology. She is the daughter of Mark and Julia Smith and is a Edina High School graduate.

From Lincoln
Nicole Kansier, Sally Frost Mason Award, is a senior in biology. She is the daughter of Raymond Kansier and is a graduate of Lincoln Southeast High School. The award honors a female undergraduate student in the biological sciences who has demonstrated academic excellence (3.0 grade-point average minimum), involvement in campus activities and leadership in her academic department.

From Seoul
Jee-Hae Lim, Outstanding International Woman Student, is a Ph.D. student in business. She is the daughter of Hawn Jae Lim and Myung Sook. She has a bachelor's degree from Fort Hays State University and a master's degree from KU.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045