Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
April 6, 2005
Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 29 high school seniors from five NW Kansas counties on April 14

LAWRENCE -- Students from 11 Kansas high schools will be honored Thursday, April 14, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

KU's ROTC will post the colors and perform "Taps" as part of the dedication ceremonies.

A total of 29 seniors from Graham, Norton, Osborne, Phillips and Smith county high schools will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 7 p.m. program at the Dane G. Hansen Memorial Plaza Community Room, 110 W. Main St., Logan. The gallery will be open for viewing at 6:15 p.m.

Honorees are listed below.

John Staniunas, associate professor of theatre and film, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representative Jennifer Sanner, senior vice president for communications and editor of Kansas Alumni magazine is in charge of award presentations.

The dinner program will cost parents and alumni $8.50 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Jerry and Marsha Edwards, Scott City, will serve as the site and Scott/Lane county coordinators; Maurine Firner, Tribune, will serve as the Greeley County coordinator and Janna DeLissa, Leoti, will serve as the Wichita County coordinator.

Polly Bales and Carol Bales, both of Logan, will serve as the site coordinators. David Rankin, Phillipsburg, is coordinator for Graham and Phillips counties; Kevin Baughman and Tom Baumann, both of Norton, are coordinators for Norton County; Philip Hardman, Osborne, is coordinator for Osborne County, and Samuel Wagner, Harlan, is coordinator for Smith County.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 92,630 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

First Name Last Name High School
Nicole Haskett Eastern Heights High School
Carter Atkins Hill City High School
Sloane Schulz Hill City High School
Matthew Worcester Hill City High School
Raylene DeBey Lakeside High School
Melanie DeBolt Lakeside High School
Andrew Rotman Lakeside High School
Zachary Steinshouer Lakeside High School
Vanessa Van Diest Logan High School
Aimee Beisner Natoma High School
Thomas Ostmeyer Northern Valley High School
Nick Evans Norton Community High School
Jason Green Norton Community High School
Claudia Lacy Norton Community High School
Justin Shirk Norton Community High School
Hailey Applegate Osborne High School
R.J. Michel Osborne High School
Jennifer Schurr Osborne High School
Karie Ubelaker Osborne High School
Bradley Rachow Phillipsburg High School
Kurt Thomas Phillipsburg High School
Ashley Conrad Phillipsburg High School
Ashley Elders Phillipsburg High School
Zachary Allen Smith Center High School
Courtney George Smith Center High School
Chelsey Lyon Smith Center High School
Andrew Sanford Smith Center High School
Leah Kuhlmann West Smith County High School
Baylee Lehmann West Smith County High School


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045