Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
Dec. 13, 2005
Contact: David Darwin, School of Engineering, (785) 864-3827.

Phi Kappa Phi honor society at KU announces new members

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas chapter of Phi Kappa Phi honor society recently initiated 150 new student members.

In addition to the student members, three new faculty initiates are Richard T. DeGeorge, university distinguished professor of philosophy; Mary Lee Hummert, professor of communication studies; and Philip A. Schrodt, professor of political science.

Chancellor Robert E. Hemenway was the keynote speaker at Nov. 29 ceremonies in Woodruff Auditorium at the Kansas Union.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 at the University of Maine in Orono, Maine, and is the nation's oldest and largest all-discipline academic honor society with chapters at about 300 colleges and universities in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines. Established in 1975, the KU chapter includes the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and all of the schools of the university.

At KU, only the top 7 percent of seniors, top 4 percent of second-semester juniors with more than 72 credit hours and top 10 percent of graduate students are asked to join. Phi Kappa Phi's primary objectives are to promote the pursuit of excellence in all fields of higher education and to recognize outstanding achievement by students, faculty and others by election to membership and through various awards for distinguished achievement.

Jeffrey Olafsen, assistant professor of physics and astronomy, is president of the KU chapter. Other officers include Adolfo Matamoros, associate professor of civil, environmental and architectural engineering, secretary; Jim Miller, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science, treasurer; David Darwin, Deane E. Ackers distinguished professor of civil, environmental and architectural engineering, scholarship and awards chair; Jill Hummels, public relations director for the School of Engineering, public relations officer; and Reta Solwa, senior administrative assistant in the civil, environmental and architectural engineering department, administrator.

The new student members are listed by home county, state or country at


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045