Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
Dec. 27, 2005
Contact: Lisa Webster, Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center, (620) 694-1505.

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center announces December 2005 graduates

HUTCHINSON -- The director of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation, Larry Welch, congratulated 57 new law enforcement graduates at their Dec. 23 graduation in the 4-H Building on the Kansas State Fairgrounds after they completed a basic training program at the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) near Yoder.

The graduates, who began their training course Sept. 12, represented 47 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas. They were the 183rd basic training class of graduates.

Graduates receive certificates for course completion and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers' Standards and Training, the state's law enforcement licensing authority, formerly known as the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Commission. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

KLETC is a unit of KU Continuing Education. Established in 1968 as the central law enforcement training facility for the state, the center is near Yoder in southern Reno County at a former naval air station.

KLETC directly trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas, and the center oversees and monitors the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol. In addition, KLETC maintains and monitors the employment and training histories of all Kansas law enforcement officers in the Central Registry, created in 1982 by the Kansas Legislature for that purpose.

About 350 officers enroll in the 14-week basic training program annually. KLETC offered continuing education and specialized training to more than 2,500 Kansas officers last year. Funding for the training center is generated from court docket fees from municipal and state courts. No funds from the state's general revenue are used to operate the center.

Dept/Agency Name Rank Agency Location (Residence city if different)
Arkansas City Police Department Travis Stroud Patrolman Arkansas City
Baldwin City Police Department Kevin Henderson Patrol Officer Baldwin City (Lawrence)
Burrton Police Department Michael Robinson Assistant Chief Burrton (Park City)
Butler County Sheriff's Department Curtis L. Cox Deputy El Dorado (Douglass)
Clay Center Police Department Zachary Baer Police Officer Clay Center
Clay County Sheriff's Department R. Allen Brumfield II Deputy Sheriff Clay Center
Cloud County Sheriff's Department Kenneth R. Davis Deputy Concordia (Miltonvale)
Colby Police Department Nicholas D. Quenzer Officer Colby
Dodge City Police Department Chad M. Thomas Patrol Officer Dodge City
Douglas County Sheriff's Department Frederick A. Ramirez Deputy Lawrence (DeSoto)
El Dorado Police Department Matthew "Seth" Miner Patrolman El Dorado
Ellis Police Department Cole A. Dinkel Police Officer Ellis
Ellis Police Department Kenneth L. Wright Police Officer Ellis
Emporia State University Police Department Christopher Johnson Police Officer Emporia
Emporia State University Police Department Jeremy C. Rhodes Patrol Officer Emporia
Ford County Sheriff's Department Joseph Peters Deputy Dodge City
Galena Police Department Diana Fries Police Officer Galena
Goodland Police Department Michael J. Fenner Police Officer Goodland
Grandview Plaza Police Department Janet Young Police Officer Grandview Plaza (White City)
Great Bend Police Department Cory Lynn Haulmark Police Officer Great Bend
Harper County Sheriff's Department Seth Harding Deputy Anthony (Harper)
Hoisington Police Department Josh Nickerson Police Officer Hoisington
Holton Police Department Ben Peven Police Officer Holton
Hope Police Department Thomas J. Dikomey Chief of Police Hope
Howard Police Department Jason N. Portneier Chief of Police Howard (Moline)
Kansas Bureau of Investigation Chris Farris Special Agent Pittsburg
Kinsley Police Department Michael Murski Police Officer Kinsley
KS Dept. of Wildlife & Parks Jesse Gehrt Ranger Paola (Alma)
KS Dept. of Wildlife & Parks Seth M. Turner Natrual Resource Officer I El Dorado (Leon)
KSU Police Department Shane M. Schartau Police Officer Manhattan (Ogden)
Liberal Police Department Bounma Chanthalangsy Police Officer Liberal
Liberal Police Department Cherrie D. Miller Police Officer Liberal
Liberal Police Department Matthew Graham Officer Liberal
Lyons Police Department Jeff B. Link Patrolman Lyons
McPherson Police Department Shawn Gallagher Patrolman McPherson
MTAA Police & Fire Department Brandon Edwards Officer Topeka (Paxico)
Mulvane Police Department Jason T. Iverson Patrol Officer Mulvane
Neosho County Sheriff's Department Joshua S. King Deputy Erie (Chanute)
Ness County Sheriff's Department Jared Walker Sheriff Deputy Ness City
Pawnee County Sheriff's Department Nathan Bartley Deputy Larned (Rozel)
Riley County Police Department Aaron D. Snyder Patrol Officer Manhattan
Riley County Police Department Christopher Flynn Police Officer Manhattan
Riley County Police Department Timothy P. Nible Manhattan (Junction City)
Rolla Police Department Kent C. Hagman Officer Rolla
Russell County Sheriff's Departmetn Damian M. Morgenstern Deputy Sheriff Russell
Sac & Fox Nation of Missouri Margaret G. Rupert Patrolman I Reserve (Mayetta)
Salina Police Department Lucas W. Sanders Police Officer Salina
Sedgwick County Courthouse Security Renatta Raymond Security Officer Wichita
Smith County Sheriff's Department Chad Meyer Deputy Smith Center (Lebanon)
St. Mary's Police Department Kevin D. Warner Officer St. Mary's (Olsburg)
Wamego Police Department William A. Coon Police Officer Wamego
Washburn University Police Nelson A. Martir Police Officer Topeka
Washburn University Police Ronette Robinson Officer Topeka


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045