Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
Feb. 15, 2005
Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 38 high school seniors from Jackson and Nemaha counties on Feb. 21

LAWRENCE -- Students from nine Kansas high schools will be honored Monday, Feb. 21, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 38 seniors from Jackson and Nemaha county high schools will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. program at the First United Methodist Church, 1401 W. Fourth St., Holton.

Honorees are listed below.

Webb Hecker, associate dean for academic affairs and professor of law, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representative Heath Peterson, director for Adams Alumni Center, is in charge of award presentations.

The dinner program will cost parents and alumni $8 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Matt and Paula Taylor, Holton, will serve as the site and Jackson County coordinators, and Jackie Olberding, Seneca, will serve as the Nemaha County coordinator.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 92,630 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

First Name Last Name High School
Amy Rottinghaus B & B High School
Chelsey Skoch B & B High School
Marcy Sudbeck B & B High School
Jessica Tegtmeier Bern High School
Bonnie Engelken Centralia High School
Ben Niehues Centralia High School
Alyssa Showman Centralia High School
John Babcock Holton High School
Elizabeth Clark Holton High School
Katherine Davis Holton High School
Kimberly Middlemist Holton High School
Andrew Nelson Holton High School
Kaylene Schirmer Holton High School
Mitchell Spade Holton High School
Taylor Strader Holton High School
RaeAnn Anderson Jackson Heights High School
Matthew Grollmes Jackson Heights High School
Kehley Pfrong Jackson Heights High School
Tara Bergman Nemaha Valley High School
Julie Eisenbarth Nemaha Valley High School
Melissa Gudenkauf Nemaha Valley High School
Megan Niehues Nemaha Valley High School
Lisa Runnebaum Nemaha Valley High School
Eric Ackors Royal Valley High School
Rebecca Burns Royal Valley High School
Melissa Carey Royal Valley High School
Mark Davenport Royal Valley High School
Matt Greeno Royal Valley High School
Danyale Kibble Royal Valley High School
John Mitchell Royal Valley High School
Katie Sisk Royal Valley High School
Madeline Allen Sabetha High School
Kara Bruning Sabetha High School
Megan Doyon Sabetha High School
Jordan Kellenberger Sabetha High School
Danielle Middendorf Sabetha High School
Laura Strahm Sabetha High School
Melissa Burdiek Wetmore High School


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045