Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
Feb. 23, 2005
Contact: Charla Jenkins, University Theatre, (785) 864-2684.

KU Theatre to stage Pulitzer Prize-winning comedy in March

LAWRENCE -- When George S. Kaufman and Moss Hart's comedy, "You Can't Take It with You," was staged on Broadway, it won the 1937 Pulitzer Prize. A year later, the screen version of the madcap farce, starring James Stewart, Jean Arthur and Lionel Barrymore, won the Academy Award for best picture.

Sixty-eight years later, the University of Kansas Theatre will stage a new version of the popular play. Performances are at 7:30 p.m. March 4, 5, 10, 11 and 12 and at 2:30 p.m. Sunday, March 6, in Crafton-Preyer Theatre in Murphy Hall at KU.

Directed by guest artist Kim Hines, the production features scenic design by Delbert Unruh, professor of theatre and film, and costume design by Sandy Appleoff, Falls City, Neb., master's degree student. Lighting designers are Anna Wieczorek, Rzepin, Poland, non-degree-seeking graduate student in American studies, and Unruh, and sound design was created by Nicholas C. Mosher, Lawrence senior in theatre design. Voice, diction and dialect coach for the production is Christopher Wheatley, Lawrence senior in theatre and film.

Hines said although the play was written in 1936, after the Depression when people were obsessed by work, the American culture is "still struggling with the concepts of being the captain of one's own ship, stopping to smell of the roses and just plain living life."

Hines, who started her career as a professional child actor, has performed at most of the theaters in Minneapolis. She has a bachelor's degree in speech and theater and visual art from Macalester College in St. Paul, Minn.

Since 1991, Hine's plays have been produced across the nation, including at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. She is also known for her directing skills and works with professional theatres as well as college theatres.

Hines has received numerous grants, commissions and awards for her work, including the Bush fellowship, awarded for playwriting. She is an Alumni Core Member of the Playwrights' Center, member of the Twin Cities' Screenwriter's Workshop, and Actor's Equity Association. She is a board member of Corning Dance Company and Intermedia Arts, is an associate artist at Illusion Theater in Minneapolis and writes a column for the Minnesota Women's Press called "Hines Sight."

" You Can't Take It with You" is a featured event of the 2005 New Literacies Conference, sponsored jointly by the American Theatre and Drama Society and the University of Kansas. As part of the conference, a talkback with the director and cast members will take place immediately following the opening performance on Friday, March 4.

Reserved seat tickets for the upcoming production are on sale at University Theatre, (785) 864-3982; the Lied Center, (785) 864-ARTS; and online at Public tickets are $16, tickets for all students are $10, and senior citizen and KU faculty and staff tickets are $15.

Members of the cast and students involved in production for "You Can't Take It with You" are (listed by name, class, major, parents' names, high school and role):

From Lawrence
Dianne-Yvette Cook, junior in theatre, daughter of Harold and Muriel Cook; Lawrence Free State High School; Gay Wellington.
Evan C. Grosshans, senior in theatre and theatre/voice, son of Kip and Kay Grosshans; Lawrence High School; Jessie.
Ashley K. Lafond, senior in theatre, daughter of Mark and Alea Lafond; Lawrence Free State High School; Penelope Sycamore.
Nicholas C. Mosher, senior in theatre design, son of Paul and Kathy Mosher; Lawrence High School; sound design.
Christopher Wheatley, senior in theatre and film, son of Kathy Pryor and Jim Peterson and of Ken Wheatley; Lawrence Free State High School; voice, diction and dialect coach.

From Lawrence and Rzepin, Poland
Anna Wieczorek, master's degree student in design from Rzepin, Poland; lighting design.

From Leawood
Courtney Schweitzer, sophomore in theatre and Spanish, daughter of Ken and Linda Schweitzer; Blue Valley High School; Rheba.

From Lenexa
Brandon Ford, junior in theatre, son of Victor and Shelly Walker; Olathe East High School; Ed.

From Overland Park
Brian Ervin, freshman in psychology, son of Dan and Debbie Ervin; St. Thomas Aquinas High School; G-Man.
Alex Haynes, freshman in theatre and psychology, son of Martin Haynes and Patricia Thomas; Blue Valley Northwest High School; Mr. Kirby.

From Shawnee
Ryan Tucker, sophomore in theatre and film, son of Don Tucker and Lauren McCarthy; Shawnee Mission Northwest High School; G-Man.

From Lansing
Lawrence P. Henderson, sophomore in theatre, son of Terri L. Harris and Lawrence W. Henderson; Lansing High School; Mr. DePinna.

From Leavenworth
Jonathan Matteson, freshman in theatre and film, son of Matt and Christine Matteson; Leavenworth High School; Henderson.

From Hutchinson
Brady Blevins, freshman in theatre and film, son of Curt and Cindy Blevins; Hutchinson High School; Donald.
Travis Lechtenberg, freshman in aerospace engineering, son of Thomas and Barbara Lechtenberg; Buhler High School; G-Man.

From Derby
Drew Fowler, freshman in theatre, son of Cynthia Fowler; Derby High School; Tony Kirby.

From Topeka
Adam Burnett, freshman in theatre and film, son of Vicki Fulmer and Russ Burnett; Topeka High School; Martin Vanderhof.

From Lakeville
Justin Knudsen, junior in theatre and creative writing, son of Ken and Barb Knudsen; Lakeville Senior High School; Paul Sycamore.

From Kansas City
Erin Evangeline Burns, senior in theatre and film, daughter of Thomas and Victoria Burns; North Kansas City High School; Natasha Kolenkhov.

From Falls City
Sandy Appleoff, master's degree student in design; costume design.

From Norman
Kate Hurley, senior in theatre/voice, daughter of Phil and Gail Hurley; Norman High School North; Mrs. Kirby.
From Broken Arrow and Okmulgee
Leslie Long, senior in theatre, daughter of Robin Miller, Okmulgee, and Robert Miller, Broken Arrow; Morris, Okla., High School; Alice.

From Mettendorf
Baerbel Goebel, non-degree-seeking graduate student in American studies; daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Klaus Goebel, St. Josef-Gymnasium Biesdorf; Olga.

From Rzepin
Anna Wieczorek (see Douglas County, Kan.)


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045