Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

Jan. 26, 2005
Contact: Jennifer Kinnard, School of Journalism and Mass Communications, (785) 864-7644.

123 KU students served on fall 2004 news staff for The University Daily Kansan

LAWRENCE -- During the fall 2004 semester, 123 students at the University of Kansas worked on The University Daily Kansan news staff to inform KU students about campus, local, national and international events.

The Kansan is a newspaper distributed free daily during the fall and spring semesters and weekly during the summer session. Students in a multimedia environment handle reporting, column and editorial writing, graphic design, photography and Web site production for about 160 issues each year. The Kansan has been produced for more than 115 years at the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications. Students can earn academic credit toward journalism degrees, but not all Kansan staff members are journalism majors.

" It's consistently ranked among the top college newspapers in the United States, and its reporters continue to win awards that prove they're among the best college journalists in the country," said Jennifer Kinnard, communications coordinator for the journalism school.

Among its recognitions, the Kansan received one of 25 national 2004 Pacemaker Awards given by the Associated Collegiate Press to top collegiate student newspapers. In addition, the Kansan received "Best in Show" for its Oct. 7, 2004, edition.

Student editors and managers make all decisions on content, and a board of faculty and students governs the paper. Malcolm Gibson is general manager and news adviser.

Students, their parents' names and hometowns (if available), level in school, staff position(s), and high schools are listed at

Kansas counties are: Allen, Barton, Brown, Butler, Cloud, Doniphan, Douglas, Finney, Hodgeman, Johnson, Leavenworth, Lyon, McPherson, Miami, Pawnee, Reno, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Sumner and Wyandotte.

Other states and towns: Hot Springs, Ark.; San Jose, Calif.; Aurora and Colorado Springs, Colo.; Jacksonville, Fla.; Marietta, Ga.; Chicago, Galesburg, Vernon Hills and Villa Park, Ill.; Davenport, Iowa; Bloomington and Eden Prairie, Minn.; Chesterfield, Kansas City, Kirkwood, Liberty, Manchester, St. Louis, St. Peters and Windsor, Mo.; Lincoln and Omaha, Neb.; Sparta, N.J.; Albuquerque, N.M.; Fairfax and Tulsa, Okla.; Austin, Keller and Plano, Texas; and McLean and Oak Hill, Va.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045