Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

July 20, 2005
Contact: Dan Lara, University Relations, (785) 864-8855.

2005 Sturgeon, Campbell science fiction winners announced at KU

LAWRENCE -- The Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas has announced the 2005 winners of its Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short science fiction work of the year and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel of the year. The awards were presented at a dinner on June 8 that was part of the Gunn Center's annual Campbell Conference.

Bradley C. Denton won the Sturgeon Award for his story "Sergeant Chip," and Richard Morgan earned the Campbell Award for his novel "Market Forces."

Denton, whose hometown is Towanda, is an alumnus of KU, earning bachelor's degrees in English and astronomy in 1980 and a master's degree in English in 1984. He is a former student of James Gunn, KU professor emeritus of English and director of the Gunn Center. Denton had planned to attend this year's Campbell Conference but did not know he was receiving the Sturgeon Award.

Other awards went to Christopher Rowe, who won second place for "Voluntary State," and Richard Reed, who won third place for his work "Mere."

The Sturgeon Award was established in 1987 by Gunn and the heirs of Theodore Sturgeon as an appropriate memorial to one of the great short-story writers in a field distinguished by its short fiction.

Morgan is a tutor at Strathclyde University, Glasgow, Scotland. He wrote the popular two-book series "Altered Carbon" and "Broken Angels." Morgan, because of a scheduling conflict, was unable to attend the ceremony.
Geoff Ryman earned second place for his novel "Air." Audrey Niffenegger won third place for her novel "The Time Traveler's Wife."

The Campbell Award is one of the three major annual awards for science fiction. The award was created to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine (now called Analog). Many writers and scholars call Campbell, who edited the magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971, the father of modern science fiction.
The Campbell Award winner was picked by a committee of academics and authors that includes Gunn; Chris McKitterick, KU lecturer in English and an associate director of the Gunn Center; Gregory Benford; Paul Carter; Elizabeth Anne Hull; Farah Mendlesohn; Pamela Sargent; and Tom Shippey.

The Sturgeon Award winner was decided by Gunn; Kij Johnson, an associate director of the Gunn Center; Frederik Pohl, a Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America Grand Master; and Noel Sturgeon, daughter of Theodore Sturgeon.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045