Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
July 6, 2005
Contact: Paula Naughtin, School of Education, (785) 864-3758.

KU School of Education awards $588,650 in scholarships for 2005-06

LAWRENCE -- The School of Education at the University of Kansas has awarded scholarships totaling more than $588,650 to students for the 2005-06 academic year.

More than 100 students received $2,000 School of Education merit-based scholarships, which are awarded on the basis of academic merit, scholarly activities and research, and service.

A total of $374,655, in amounts from $500 to $2,000, was given to 260 students for the 2005-06 year through donor scholarships that help support students preparing for careers in education. A spring recognition ceremony honored the student recipients, donors and invited guests.

Brett Keesling from Sylvia, who will be a junior in the fall, received the first Mark Jarboe scholarship. Anne Jarboe of Lawrence established the scholarship this spring in her husband's name to help support students preparing for a career in science education. Mark Jarboe, a KU alumnus who teaches physics at Shawnee Heights High School in Tecumseh, learned of the new scholarship when it was announced at the ceremony.

Funds for the donor-based scholarships are administered through the KU Endowment Association.

Fred Rodriguez, interim dean of education, said: "The School of Education is proud to be in a position to recognize outstanding students through merit-based and donor-based scholarships. Our students continue to impress us with their academic performance and, equally important, the wonderful contributions they make to our academic programs, research and public service. Without the generosity of our donors we would never be in a position to acknowledge and recognize these most deserving students."

KU's School of Education is recognized nationally as a premier institution in the preparation of practitioners and leaders in education and related human service fields. U.S. News and World Report has ranked the Department of Special Education the No. 1 special education graduate program in the country 12 times since 1995. Additionally, the school is tied for 20th place in graduate education for public universities in the country. KU offers an extended five-year teacher education program that admits qualified students in their junior year.

The scholarship recipients represent 43 Kansas counties, 20 other states and seven other countries. The 2005-06 recipients are listed by their hometowns, year in school, parents' names and scholarships online at

Kansas counties: Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Barton, Brown, Butler, Chautauqua, Coffey, Crawford, Douglas, Finney, Geary, Gove, Graham, Greeley, Harvey, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, McPherson, Miami, Mitchell, Montgomery, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Osborne, Phillips, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Rice, Russell, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Sherman, Stevens, Sumner, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte;. Other states: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin. Other countries: Belarus, China, India, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and The Netherlands.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045