Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
June 15, 2005
Contact: Joey Sprague, sociology department, (785) 864-9407.

KU sociology department honors 30 students at spring awards banquet

LAWRENCE -- The Department of Sociology at the University of Kansas recognized 30 graduate and undergraduate students at its spring awards banquet with awards and scholarships for outstanding academic and teaching achievements.

The department's undergraduate and graduate studies committees presented the awards during the 13th annual event, held May 13 at the McCluggage Conference Room in Fraser Hall.

A number of graduate students received awards and scholarships totaling $5,950. The awards presented at the banquet were the E. Jackson Baur Award for Research and Study of Social Conflict and Conflict Resolution, the Centennial Award, the Carroll D. Clark Award for Teaching Excellence, the Carroll D. Clark Pre- and Post-MA awards, the Morris C. Pratt Research and Travel scholarships, and the Helen Waddle Roofe scholarships.

Undergraduate students were recognized with the Marston M. McCluggage Scholarship and for being inducted into the Alpha Kappa Delta international sociology honor society. The honor society was established in 1920 at the University of Southern California to promote an interest in the study of sociology, research of social problems, and other social and intellectual activities that lead to improvement in the human condition. To be eligible for the honor society, undergraduates must have officially declared the sociology major, be at least a junior, have an overall 3.0 grade-point average, rank in the top 35 percent of their class in general scholarship, maintain a 3.0 GPA in sociology courses and have completed at least four regular courses in sociology.

The department announced recipients for several university-level and external distinctions, including the Carlin Graduate Teaching Assistant Award, the Howard Baumgartel Peace and Justice Award, the Harley S. Nelson Family Scholarship, the Hilden Gibson Award, and the Department of Education FLAS Fellowship.

KU's Department of Sociology is the oldest academic sociology department in the United States, founded in 1891.

The students honored, their hometowns, parents' names and high schools (when available), level in school and distinctions are listed online by home county or state at


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045