Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
June 20, 2005
Contact: Andrea Albright, University Relations, (785) 864-8860.

Annual science-fiction conference at KU to feature local authors

LAWRENCE -- The J. Wayne and Elsie M. Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas will bring aspiring science-fiction writers and several well-known science-fiction authors to KU July 7 through 10 as part of its annual Campbell Conference.

This year's conference, titled "Science Fiction Past, Present and Future," will focus on the ways that writers, teachers and editors influence the course of science fiction.

The conference will feature readings and author discussions with notable science-fiction authors, including Robin Wayne Bailey, president of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America; KU alum Pat Cadigan, "The Queen of Cyberpunk," a past winner of the World Fantasy Award and the Locus Award; Bradley Denton, a past winner of the Campbell Award, the Prix .38 Calibre and the World Fantasy Award; and Frederik Pohl, a member of the Science Fiction Hall of Fame. Other attendees will participate in panel discussions and informal receptions throughout the conference. Local author and Gunn Center associate director Kij Johnson will open the conference with a reading and discussion Thursday evening.

Two annual science-fiction honors will be presented at the conference: the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science-fiction novel of the year and the Theodore Sturgeon Award for best short science fiction of the year.

For a complete schedule of event activities, campus locations, fees and housing options, visit the Gunn Center Web site,


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045