Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
March 11, 2005
Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 23 high school seniors from Atchison County on March 16

LAWRENCE -- Students from three Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, March 16, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 23 seniors from Atchison County high schools will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. program at the Atchison Heritage Conference Center, 710 S. Ninth St., Atchison.

Honorees are listed below.

Stella Bentley, dean of libraries at KU, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representative Bryan Greve, senior vice president for membership and Adams Alumni Center, is in charge of award presentations.

The dinner program will cost parents and alumni $13 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Dr. Chad and Carri Ball, Atchison, will serve as the site and Atchison County coordinators.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 92,630 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

First Name Last Name High School
Andrew Gigstad Atchison County Community High School
Austin Handke Atchison County Community High School
Aaron Ladd Atchison County Community High School
Rachel Ludwig Atchison County Community High School
Jessica Morris Atchison County Community High School
Megan Sheeley Atchison County Community High School
Sarah Berger Atchison High School
Kyle Eichelberger Atchison High School
Lacee Gassman Atchison High School
Amanda Howard Atchison High School
Jessica McDaniel Atchison High School
Nicole Pickman Atchison High School
Spencer Pummel Atchison High School
Michael Stephenson Atchison High School
Sally Stillings Atchison High School
Hank Webb Atchison High School
Katherine Gartenmayer Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Shaymarie Genosky Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Mallory Pickman Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Megan Pool Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Justin Pregont Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Robert Shriwise Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Amanda Weber Maur Hill-Mount Academy


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045