Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
March 31, 2005
Contact: Lisa Pinamonti Kress, Office of Admissions and Scholarships, (785) 864-5421.

KU announces National Merit, National Achievement, National Hispanic scholars

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas Office of Admissions and Scholarships has announced the names of 66 KU students in three national scholarship programs: National Merit, National Achievement and National Hispanic.

Fifty-seven National Merit scholars, five National Hispanic scholars and four National Achievement scholars, a program for outstanding African-Americans, chose KU.

The National Merit scholarship is widely regarded as the most prestigious national award bestowed upon high school seniors. Fewer than 10,000 students of the 1.2 million who compete for the award, or fewer than 1 percent, receive National Merit scholarships. Recipients are chosen based on their academic abilities and records and extracurricular activities.

The National Hispanic scholars and National Achievement scholars programs are the nation's most prestigious competitive scholarships for minority students. National Achievement scholarships are provided through the National Merit Scholarship Corp. in Evanston, Ill. National Hispanic scholarships are coordinated through the National Hispanic Recognition Program, through the College Board offices in New York City.

KU enrolls more Kansas students than any other university or college in the state and encourages more of the state's top scholars to come to KU, graduate and stay in Kansas as they begin their careers. To increase recruitment of outstanding Kansas students, KU no longer automatically offers full scholarships to out-of-state National Merit, National Achievement or National Hispanic scholars.

All Kansans with these scholarships receive tuition and fees for 15 credits a semester plus a housing stipend, valued at about $8,000. Out-of-state students receive $10,000 in scholarships. The scholarships are renewable.

Scholars are listed by home county and state at

Kansas counties represented this year are: Cloud, Crawford, Douglas, Geary, Harvey, Jefferson, Johnson, Leavenworth, Lyon, McPherson, Miami, Riley, Saline, Sedgwick and Shawnee. Out-of-state hometowns are: Fayetteville, Ark.; Huxley, Iowa; Ballwin, Kansas City, Lee's Summit and Rolla, Mo.; Lincoln and Omaha, Neb.; Broken Arrow and Edmond, Okla.; Sioux Falls, S.D.; and Germantown, Tenn.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045