Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
March 7, 2005
Contact: Carolyn Barnes, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 27 high school seniors in Hiawatha on March 9

LAWRENCE -- Students from six Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, March 9, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

A total of 27 seniors from Brown and Doniphan county high schools will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. program at Hiawatha High School, 600 Red Hawk Drive, Hiawatha.

Honorees are listed below.

Tracy Callaway Russo, director of KU's Edwards Campus Graduate Program in communication studies, will speak. Kansas Alumni Association representatives Bryan Greve, senior vice president for membership and Adams Alumni Center, and Janice Cordry, director of travel and reunion programs, are in charge of award presentations.

The dinner program will cost parents and alumni $9 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association.

Leland and Debbie Hansen, Hiawatha, will serve as the site and Brown County coordinators, and Mike and Pam Arnold, Bendena, will serve as the Doniphan County coordinators.

The KU Endowment Association and the KU Alumni Association began sponsoring the Kansas Honors Program in 1971. The program has honored 92,630 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

First Name Last Name High School
Lisa Handke Doniphan County High School
Andres Massey Doniphan County High School
Clinton Merkel Doniphan County High School
Allie Wilmes Doniphan County High School
Mellleligha Dodds Elwood High School
Bret Shackelford Elwood High School
Miriam Lenon Hiawatha High School
Kaitlin Weddum Hiawatha High School
Ashley Fischer Hiawatha High School
Jamie Bauerle Hiawatha High School
Amanda Jones Hiawatha High School
Jessica Miner Hiawatha High School
Robyn Korthanke Hiawatha High School
Gabe Harter Hiawatha High School
Lindsay Chalfant Horton High School
Heidi Compton Horton High School
Sarah Jensen Horton High School
Jared Selland Horton High School
Joceylyn Bishop Troy High School
Bethany Jenkins Troy High School
Jay Johnson Troy High School
Katie Merritt Troy High School
Abigail Winder Troy High School
Mallory Haedt Wathena High School
Dane Johnson Wathena High School
Daniel Wyatt Wathena High School


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045