Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
April 10, 2005
Contact: Mary Jane Dunlap, University Relations, (785) 864-8853.

Class of 2005 salutes more than 245 top scholars among its graduates

LAWRENCE -- More than 245 students in top scholarship programs at the University of Kansas will be among the Class of 2005 graduating May 22. The Class of 2005 includes graduates from the summer and fall 2004 terms. The commencement procession begins at 2:30 p.m. Sunday, May 22, at Memorial Stadium.

Each year KU awards its most prized renewable four-year scholarships to students whose academic record and other qualifications make them eligible for selection. These programs include: Chancellors Club scholars, Elizabeth M. Watkins-Berger scholars, Endowment Meritorious scholars, National Achievement scholars, National Hispanic scholars, National Merit scholars and Solon E. Summerfield scholars. The KU Endowment Association manages the funds for these scholarships.

The Chancellors Club, the major-donor organization at the KU Endowment Association, annually awards 10 renewable scholarships worth $1,500 to $2,000 to recognize National Merit finalists, five from Kansas and five from out of state, who have outstanding high-school records.

Endowment Meritorious scholarships provide from $500 to $2,500 a year for four years to high-achieving students who enhance the diversity of the student body.

Elizabeth M. Watkins-Berger and Solon E. Summerfield scholarships provide $2,500 a year for four years to only 100 Kansas high school graduates in recognition of their outstanding high school academic achievement and record of community service and leadership. Summerfield scholarships for men are funded through an endowment established by Solon E. Summerfield, who was a Lawrence native and KU graduate. Watkins-Berger scholarships for women are financed by the estate of Elizabeth M. Watkins of Lawrence and an endowment in memory of Emily Berger, a KU graduate, by her brother, the late Arthur Berger of Dallas.

The National Merit scholarship is regarded as the most prestigious national award bestowed upon high school seniors. Fewer than 10,000 students of the 1.2 million who compete for the award, or fewer than 1 percent, receive National Merit scholarships. Recipients are chosen based on their academic abilities and records and extracurricular activities.

The National Hispanic scholars and National Achievement scholars programs are the nation's most prestigious competitive scholarships for minority students. National Achievement scholarships are provided through the National Merit Scholarship Corp. in Evanston, Ill. National Hispanic scholarships are coordinated through the National Hispanic Recognition Program, through the College Board offices in New York City.

KU's National Merit, National Hispanic and National Achievement scholars in this graduating class received a scholarship for tuition (15 credit hours each semester), campus fees and a housing stipend, renewable for four years.

The graduating scholars are listed by home county or state with their parents' names, majors and high school alma maters.

Kansas counties: Anderson, Atchison, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Crawford, Douglas, Ellsworth, Finney, Ford, Harvey, Hodgeman, Jefferson, Johnson, Leavenworth, Lyon, McPherson, Mitchell, Montgomery, Ness, Osage, Pawnee, Pottawatomie, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Stafford, Sumner, Trego, and Wyandotte; Little Rock, Ark.; Fontana and Upland, Calif.; Centennial, Colorado Springs, Fort Collins, Lakewood and Littleton, Colo.; Atlantic, Bondurant, Cedar Falls, Harlan and Hayden Lake, Iowa; Lexington, Ky.; Coon Rapids, Eden Prairie and Minneapolis, Minn.: Blue Springs, Carrollton, Columbia, Gladstone, Grandview, Independence, Kansas City, Lee's Summit, Liberty, Manchester, Parkville, St. Louis, St. Peters, Warrensburg and Wildwood, Mo.; Bismarck and Colfax, N.D.; Bellevue, Central City, Elkhorn, Hastings, Lincoln, Omaha, Orchard and Wahoo, Neb.; Albuquerque, N.M.; Oxford, Ohio; Braman, Edmond, Oklahoma City, Pawhuska and Tulsa, Okla.; Washington Crossing, Pa.; Aberdeen and Sioux Falls, S.D.; Denison, Fort Worth and Katy, Texas; Lynnwood, Wash.; and Saskatchewan, Canada.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045