Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
May 16, 2005
Contact: Jennifer Jackson Sanner, Kansas Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

Inspiring alumni, chancellor emeritus to receive top KU Alumni Association honor

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas' highest honor, the Distinguished Service Citation, will be given this month to three alumni and a longtime KU leader. KU and the Kansas Alumni Association will honor them May 20 at the All-University Supper, and the four will march in Commencement May 22.

The 2005 winners are graduates Paul James Adam Jr. of Overland Park, Forrest E. Hoglund of Dallas; Kala Mays Stroup of Lawrence and Delbert M. Shankel of Lawrence. The citation honors individuals who through their lives and careers have helped benefit humanity. Nominations for the award are accepted each year until Sept. 30; representatives from the Alumni and Endowment associations and the Chancellor's office select the recipients.

Paul James Adam
As an innovator throughout his career, Jim Adam improved not only the mechanics of fossil-fueled power plants, but also the computer tools to design them, and the worldwide firm responsible for plant design and construction. In 1956, he joined Black & Veatch as a mechanical engineer. Fifty years later, he remains chairman emeritus of the firm he guided through much of the 1990s as chairman and CEO. He led the firm from a partnership to a corporation with em-ployee ownership, and he led his industry as chair of the U.S. Energy Association and the World Energy Council.

In Kansas City, he has helped guide the Civic Council, the United Way and the Midwest Research Institute. For KU, he is a member of the Edwards Campus Advisory board, past chair of the School of Engineering advisory board and a trustee of the KU Endowment Association. He was a KU First donor to engineering's Eaton Hall, and he served on the Alumni Association's national Board of Directors from 1998 to 2001, chairing it from 1998 to '99. He also served on the Adams Alumni Center Board of Governors from 1993 to 2002. He is a member of the engineering school's Mechanical Engineering Hall of Fame and a Distinguished Service Award winner, and his many professional and community awards include the Human Relations Award from the American Jewish Committee.

Forrest Hoglund
Forrest Hoglund embodies "drive" in every sense of the word. In the oil and gas industry, he became known for spurring small companies to big growth and top performance. He chairs Arctic Resources Co. Ltd., a group proposing a $10 billion natural gas pipeline from northern Alaska through Canada, and SeaOne Maritime Corp., which transports natural gas.

Civic leaders in Texas and his fellow Jayhawks have trusted him to provide the drive behind many a successful fund-raising campaign, most notably the historic KU First venture, which raised $653 million for the University. The Hoglund Brain Imaging Center at KU Medical Center signifies his quest to provide the most advanced tools to benefit medical care, teaching and research. Through the years, he has contributed to numerous areas of the University, including the Hoglund Engineering Lab and, as a former baseball letterman and captain, Hoglund Ballpark. He received the Fred Ellsworth Medallion in 1996 for his service to KU.

His enthusiasm as a spokesman and investor also brought fund-raising success to the M.D. Anderson Cancer Foundation and the Musueum of Natural Science in Houston. He chairs the Hoglund Family Foundation in Dallas, and he has developed and supported The Reasoning Mind, a Web-based math program for fifth- and sixth-graders. He now leads another ambitious drive, this time for the Dallas Museum of Nature & Science.

Chancellor Emeritus Del Shankel
Del Shankel, professor and chancellor emeritus, has earned acclaim as a scientist, a teacher, and an energetic leader who welcomes a challenge. But beyond acclaim, he has earned affection from countless scholars, students and university staff members. Though his academic life began at Walla Walla College in Washington and the University of Texas, he is a confirmed Jayhawk whose length and breadth of service defy concise explanation.

He has served KU as department chair, dean, the first executive vice chancellor, and twice as chancellor, though he is officially known as KU's 15th chancellor for his leadership from 1994 to '95. During critical transitions, he has served as interim athletics director, acting chancellor, and interim president of the Alumni Association.

Through the years he has continued to encourage young scholars in microbiology and related fields through his teaching, advising and publications. As a researcher, he has studied mechanisms to halt cancer-causing gene mutations, receiving numerous grants from the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation.

The KU chapter of Mortar Board has honored him three times as an outstanding educator; in 1989 Walla Walla College named him Alumnus of the Year, and KU honored him for his service in 1996 with the Fred Ellsworth Medallion.

Kala Stroup
Kala Stroup majored in speech and drama, but she found her home on a stage larger than any theatre. As a national leader in higher education, she became a mentor and model for countless young women, starting at KU, where she spent 18 years as a teacher and adviser, including a stint as dean of women.
She served as chief academic officer at Emporia State University, then spent 12 years as a university president at Murray State University in Kentucky and Southeast Missouri State University. In 1995, she expanded her role in Missouri as commissioner of higher education, serving on the Governor's Cabinet until 2002. She is now president of American Humanics, which prepares future leaders of universities and nonprofit groups.

For KU, she has served on the board of the Alumni Association from 1985 to '90, and on the Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center Advisory Board from 1974 to 1983; she began a second term on the center's board in 2004. She is a member of the KU Women's Hall of Fame and received the Alumni Honor Citation from the Division of Speech and Drama. A fountain at Southeast Missouri State University is named for her, and two honorary degrees are among her many professional and civic awards.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045