Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
May 19, 2005
Contact: Pam Shadoin, math department, (785) 864-7300.

KU math department recognizes students, faculty at 48th annual banquet

LAWRENCE -- Eleven University of Kansas undergraduate and graduate students and two mathematics professors received awards at the KU mathematics department's 48th annual spring banquet in April.

In addition, the department announced at the banquet the recipients of more than $81,900 in awards and scholarships. Funds are administered through the KU Endowment Association.

Pedro Lei, Macau, China, senior; Andrew Womack, Overland Park senior; and Xiaobang Yue, Chindu, Sichuan, China senior, received cash awards of $150 from the mathematics department for their performance in the national William Lowell Putnam Competition, sponsored by the Mathematical Association of America and open to all regularly enrolled undergraduates in the United States and Canada. Brian Moehring, Olathe sophomore, also received a $100 award for his Putnam contest performance.

Five winners in KU's 23rd annual mathematics prize competition received cash awards. Winners, their prizes and competition levels were Moehring, first place in junior level, $300; Yujie Li, Shen Zhen, Guang Dong, China, junior, second place in junior level, $100; Yue, special prize in junior level, $300; Lei, first place in senior level, $450; and Jeff Bergfalk, Mission senior, second place in senior level, $150.

Three students received certificates from the Kansas Algebra Program for their outstanding contributions to teaching, tutoring and extra duties. These students were Noah Laible, Overland Park senior; Adam Lohoefener, Oberlin master's degree student; and Eric Skoglund, Olathe senior.

KU's math department recognizes outstanding graduate teaching assistants with the Florence Black Excellence in Teaching Award and the John Bunce Memorial Award. Nathan Carlson, Lawrence doctoral student, received the $1,000 Florence Black Excellence in Teaching Award, established in memory of Black, a faculty member from 1918 to 1960. Lon Mitchell, Saginaw, Mich., master's degree student, received the $750 John Bunce Award, which commemorates a math professor at KU from 1970 to 1991.

Jeffrey Lang, professor of mathematics, and Robert Brown, professor of mathematics, received faculty awards. Lang received the G. Baley Price Award for Excellence in Teaching, presented by the Mathematics Graduate Students Association. Brown received the $5,000 Max Wells Teaching Award in recognition of outstanding or exemplary teaching in the field of mathematics by a KU math faculty member.

Math award and scholarship winners are listed at by hometown, level, major, parents' names and high school (when available), and award and scholarship.

Other awards or scholarships for graduate students include the Elbert Walker Scholarship, the U.G. Mitchell Honor Scholarship, the Mitchell-Walker Scholarship and the Black-Mitchell Scholarship. All others are for undergraduate students.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045