Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
May 19, 2005
Contact: Cindi Hodges, philosophy department, (785) 864-2334.

KU philosophy department honors 13 students with awards, prizes

LAWRENCE -- Students in the philosophy department at the University of Kansas were honored May 10 during a banquet for about 55 faculty, staff, students and their guests in the Kansas Union Malott Room.

Ben Eggleston, assistant professor of philosophy and undergraduate studies director; Teresa Robertson, associate professor and graduate studies director; and Thomas Tuozzo, associate professor of philosophy and department chair, presented more than $10,500 in prizes, awards and scholarships to 13 students. Funds for the scholarships and awards are administered through the KU Endowment Association.

The awards presented were:

- The GTA Teaching Award for 2004 recognizes outstanding success in the classroom, as evidenced by reports from students and supervisors.
- The Warner Morse Prize provides cash awards to students who have done outstanding work in ethics, metaphysics and epistemology, or history of philosophy.
- Warner Morse scholarships are awarded to outstanding juniors who are majoring in philosophy or who have done outstanding work in philosophy courses.
- The Robinson Essay contest, open to undergraduate and graduate students, provides the winner a cash award and publication of a philosophical paper in Auslegung, a KU philosophy department graduate student journal.
- The Arthur Skidmore Awards and the J.M. Young Awards provide cash awards to the top four or five seniors majoring in philosophy.
- The Summer Templin Fellowships provide a cash award to graduate students who show academic excellence or have a special circumstance requiring support for the summer period.

Students receiving awards, prizes and scholarships are listed by their hometowns and parents' names (when available), their level in school, majors, their high school or previous alma mater and their award.

From Hiawatha
Ian Christopher Ostrander, senior in philosophy and political science, son of Linda Ostrander; Emporia High School; 2005 Warner Morse Prize

From Lawrence
Matthew J. Waldschlagel, doctoral student in philosophy, bachelor's degree from University of New Hampshire and master's degree from Kent State University in Ohio; 2005 Robinson Essay Prize

From Ottawa
Ryan M. Stringer, senior in philosophy and psychology, son of Michael Stringer; Ottawa High School; 2005 Warner Morse Prize

From Anthony
Joseph Sanders Morgan, senior in environmental studies and philosophy, son of Nathan and Lorraine Morgan; Wichita Southeast High School; 2005 Arthur Skidmore Award

From Leawood
Clifton Guy Phillips, master's degree student in philosophy, bachelor's degree from Kansas State University; GTA Teaching Award 2004-05

From Olathe
Eric A. Holte, junior in philosophy, son of David and Laura Holte; Olathe South High School; 2005 J. M. Young Award

From Buhler
Henry Warren Epp, senior in philosophy, son of Donald and Annette Epp; Buhler High School; 2005 Warner Morse Prize

From Lyons
Mark Alan Lippelmann, junior in philosophy, son of Roger and Linda Lippelmann; Lyons High School; 2005 Arthur Skidmore Award

From Derby
Kyle Francis Timmermeyer, junior in English and philosophy, son of Stephen and Diane Timmermeyer; Kapaun Mt. Carmel High School; 2005 Warner Morse Undergraduate Scholarship

From Wichita
Veronica Lyn Pastore, senior in philosophy, daughter of Lynda Weixelman; Wichita Collegiate; 2005 Warner Morse Undergraduate Scholarship

From Farmingville
Mario Garitta, doctoral student in philosophy, with a bachelor's degree from the College of Holy Cross in Massachusetts and a master's degree from New School University Eugene Lang College in New York; 2005 Summer Templin Fellowship

From Addis Ababa
Pelle Darota Danabo, doctoral student in philosophy, master's degree from KU; 2005 Summer Templin Fellowship


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045