Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
May 23, 2005
Contact: Andrea Albright, University Relations, (785) 864-8860.

Six KU faculty members receive teaching awards during commencement ceremony

LAWRENCE -- Six University of Kansas faculty members received distinguished teaching awards for the 2004-05 academic year during the commencement ceremony Sunday, May 22.

Faculty from the KU Medical Center were honored with the Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Classroom Teaching. This year's winners were George Enders, associate professor of anatomy and cell biology; Janice Loudon, associate professor of physical therapy and rehabilitation sciences; and Xiaoming Zhang, assistant professor of anatomy and cell biology.

Jie Zhang, assistant professor of linguistics, received the Silver Anniversary Award, provided by the 25-year alumni class.

Marni Kessler, assistant professor of art history, received the Byron T. Shutz Award, established in 1978 to honor distinguished teaching in economics and business. The selection guidelines were modified in 1985 to honor outstanding teachers from any discipline in alternate years.

The Ned N. Fleming Trust Award for distinguished teaching, scholarship and service was awarded to James Orr, professor and chair of biology.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045