Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
Nov. 16, 2005
Contact: Jenna Sheldon-Sherman.

Media Advisory: Mortar Board 2005 Outstanding Educator Awards

WHAT: Five University of Kansas faculty members will be recognized at halftime of the KU-Idaho State men's basketball game by the KU chapter of Mortar Board, a national senior honor society.

Mortar Board members nominate and select educators for the awards based on devotion to academia, teaching style, accessibility, knowledge of their subject and other special qualities.

WHEN: Halftime of KU-Idaho State men's basketball game Friday, Nov. 18. Estimated time: 8 to 8:15 p.m. Game begins at 7 p.m.

WHERE: Allen Fieldhouse at KU.

WHO: Don Steeples, vice provost for scholarly support and Dean A. McGee distinguished professor of applied geophysics, Mortar Board President Audrey Worthington, Dallas, Texas, and Mortar Board Outstanding Educator Co-Chairs Amber Hall, Wichita, and Jenna Sheldon-Sherman, Lawrence, will present the award certificates to Ann Cudd, professor of philosophy and director of women's studies; Marni Kessler, assistant professor of art history; Mehrangiz Najafizadeh, associate professor of sociology; and Mark Nesbitt-Daly, associate director of the University Honors Program. Cynthia Lynn, Lawrence junior, will accept the award on behalf of Maryemma Graham, professor of English, who is on sabbatical for the year as the John Hope Franklin Fellow at the National Humanities Center in North Carolina. Lynn nominated Graham for the award.

For additional information:


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045