Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
Nov. 7, 2005
Contact: Danny Kaiser, Office of Vice Provost for Student Success, (785) 864-4060.

Journalism professor Chuck Marsh receives 2005 H.O.P.E. Award

LAWRENCE -- Charles "Chuck" Marsh, associate professor of journalism, received the 2005 H.O.P.E. Award -- Honor for an Outstanding Progressive Educator -- during the Nov. 5 KU vs. Nebraska football game in Memorial Stadium at the University of Kansas.

Established by the Class of 1959, the H.O.P.E. Award recognizes outstanding teaching and concern for students and is the only honor for teaching excellence given exclusively by seniors on the Lawrence campus through a ballot-and-interview process.

Marsh was among eight finalists nominated and selected by KU seniors by e-mail ballot. A committee of the senior class officers and representatives of the Board of Class Officers selects the winner on the basis of interviews with the finalists.

This was the second consecutive year that students had selected Marsh as a finalist. Earlier this fall Marsh also received a Kemper Award for Excellence in Teaching. Students have described Marsh as someone who does whatever he can to help his students succeed -- from working with them outside of the classroom to helping numerous graduating students get their foot in the door at their first post-college job. Marsh teaches classes in message development, public relations, editing and media ethics. He joined KU's School of Journalism and Mass Communications in 1989. His doctoral, master's and bachelor's degrees are from KU.

KU Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost David Shulenburger joined the student committee members in presenting the 2005 award to Marsh on the field between the first and second quarters. Senior Class President Whitney Megan Ryan, Tulsa, Okla., psychology major, presented the award to Marsh.

Finalists introduced with Marsh during the ceremonies were Cynthia Akagi, assistant professor, health, sport and exercise sciences; Kerry Benson, lecturer, journalism; Jonathan Earle, associate professor, history; Mark Haug, lecturer, business; Edward McBride, lecturer, civil, environmental and architectural engineering; James Orr, professor and chair, biological sciences; and Tim Shaftel, Jordan Haines distinguished professor of business.

H.O.P.E. Award winners receive a monetary award and recognition on a permanent plaque displayed in the Kansas Union.

H.O.P.E. Award committee members present Saturday included Senior Class President Ryan; Vice President Greyson Andrew Clymer, Prairie Village senior in business administration; Secretary Jenni Elise Fox, Topeka senior in biology; and Treasurer Sarah Christine Lathrop, Phoenix, Ariz., senior in journalism.

Students representing the Board of Class officers: Garrett Martin Gehrer, Derby sophomore in accounting; Whitney Leigh Gallagher, Springfield, Mo., sophomore in chemistry; Lauren Hope Taylor, Oklahoma City, Okla., senior in journalism; and Ryan Michael Northup, Edmond, Okla., sophomore in human biology.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045