Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
October 11, 2005
Contact: Lisa Pinamonti Kress, Office of Admissions and Scholarships, (785) 864-5421.

KU announces 2005-06 National Merit, Achievement, Hispanic Scholars

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas Office of Admissions and Scholarships has announced the names of 78 KU students in three national scholarship programs: National Merit, National Achievement and National Hispanic.

Seventy National Merit scholars, six National Hispanic scholars and two National Achievement scholars, a program for outstanding African-Americans, chose KU. Fifty-one of the National Merit Scholars are Kansans.

The National Merit scholarship is widely regarded as the most prestigious national award bestowed upon high school seniors. Fewer than 10,000 students of the 1.2 million who compete for the award, or fewer than 1 percent, receive National Merit scholarships. Recipients are chosen based on their academic abilities and records and extracurricular activities.

The National Hispanic scholars and National Achievement scholars programs are the nation's most prestigious competitive scholarships for minority students. National Achievement scholarships are provided through the National Merit Scholarship Corp. in Evanston, Ill. National Hispanic scholarships are coordinated through the National Hispanic Recognition Program, through the College Board offices in New York City.

With 70 new National Merit scholars, KU enrolls a total of 254 National Merit scholars.

KU enrolls more Kansas students than any other university or college in the state and encourages more of the state's top scholars to come to KU, graduate and stay in Kansas as they begin their careers.

For Fall 2005, all Kansans with these scholarships receive tuition and fees for 15 credits a semester plus a housing stipend, valued at about $8,900. Out-of-state students receive $10,000 in scholarships. The scholarships are renewable.

Scholars are listed by home county and state at

Kansas counties represented this year are: Barton, Butler, Clay, Dickinson, Douglas, Ellis, Franklin, Johsnon, Leavenworth, Reno, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee and Wyandotte. Other areas represented are: Conway, Ark,; Iowa City and Sioux City, Iowa; Lake Zurich, Ill.; Edinburgh, Ind.; Dexter and Ypsilanti, Mich.; Columbia, Kansas City, St. Louis and Wildwood, Mo.; Omaha, Neb.; Dublin, Ohio; Stillwater, Okla.; and Bartlett, Tenn.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045