Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
October 25, 2005
Contact: Lisa Webster, KU Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center, (620) 694-1505.

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center announces October 2005 graduates

HUTCHINSON -- Garden City Police Chief James Hawkins congratulated 60 new law enforcement graduates at their Oct. 21 graduation in the 4-H Building on the Kansas State Fairgrounds after they completed a basic training program at the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) near Yoder.

The graduates, who began their training course July 18, represented 42 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas. They were the 181st basic training class of graduates.

Graduates receive certificates for course completion and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers' Standards and Training, the state's law enforcement licensing authority, formerly known as the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Commission. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

KLETC is a unit of KU Continuing Education. Established in 1968 as the central law enforcement training facility for the state, the center is near Yoder in southern Reno County at a former naval air station.

KLETC directly trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas, and the center oversees and monitors the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol. In addition, KLETC maintains and monitors the employment and training histories of all Kansas law enforcement officers in the Central Registry, created in 1982 by the Kansas legislature for that purpose.

About 350 officers enroll in the 14-week basic training program annually. KLETC offered continuing education and specialized training to more than 2,500 Kansas officers last year. Funding for the training center is generated from court docket fees from municipal and state courts. No funds from the state's general revenue are used to operate the center.

Dept/Agency Name Rank Agency is Located Residence if different than agency city
Arkansas City Police Dept. Kasey Kielhorn Patrolman Arkansas City Wichita
Atchison Police Dept. Joshua W. Sinclair Patrolman Atchison
Atchison Police Dept. Jeffrey T. Smith Patrol Officer I Atchison
Burlingame Police Dept. Edward Dudley Patrolman Burlingame Eskridge
Cherokee Co. Sheriff's Dept. Kent Soucy Undersheriff Columbus
Cowley Co. Sheriff's Dept. Sean Skov Deputy Winfield
Cowley Co. Sheriff's Dept. Ryan Ware Deputy Winfield Dexter
Dodge City Police Dept. Orlando Villasenor Officer Dodge City
Douglas Co. Sheriff's Dept. Sheila M. Meggison Deputy Lawrence Baldwin
Edwardsville Police Dept. Jaime Horsager Police Officer Edwardsville Lenexa
Fort Hays State University Police Dept. Brady Richards Police Officer Hays
Gardner Dept. of Public Safety Jason D. Jennings Public Safety Officer Gardner
Geary Co. Sheriff's Dept. Dustin Fisher Deputy Junction City
Geary Co. Sheriff's Dept. Michael Rivera Deputy Junction City
Geary Co. Sheriff's Dept. Christopher D. Ross Deputy Junction City
Goodland Police Dept. John Bowman Police Officer Goodland
Gove Co. Sheriff's Dept. Christopher McDonald Deputy Gove Quinter
Hays Police Dept. Joshua Burkholder Patrolman Hays
Hodgeman Co. Sheriff's Dept. Bobby Knowles Deputy Jetmore
Hugoton Police Dept. Patrick Queen Patrolman Hugoton
Hutchinson Police Dept. Brian Law Officer Hutchinson
Independence Police Dept. Todd Olson Patrolman I Independence
Johnson Co. Sheriff's Dept. Karen L. Becker Deputy Olathe Overland Park
Johnson Co. Sheriff's Dept. James Browning Deputy Gardner Edgerton
Johnson Co. Sheriff's Dept. Brent Burton Deputy Gardner
Johnson Co. Sheriff's Dept. Thomas E. Gresham Deputy Olathe Lenexa
Johnson Co. Sheriff's Dept. Todd Shapiro Deputy Gardner Olathe
Johnson Co. Sheriff's Dept. Cory Smith Deputy Gardner Kansas City, KS
Junction City Police Dept. Jason Mortimer Officer Junction City
Junction City Police Dept. Shawn Weeks Patrol Officer Junction City Manhattan
KS Dept. of Wildlife & Parks Todd Robinson Natural Resource Officer I Lakin
KS State Univ. Police Dept. Russell P. D'Andrea Officer Manhattan Junction City
KU Med Center Police Dept. Matthew Boggs Police Officer Kansas City Roeland Park
KU Med Center Police Dept. Steven R. Wechsler Police Officer Kansas City
KU Police Dept. James E. Ward Jr. Police Officer Kansas City
Leavenworth Police Dept. Matthew Nickel Police Officer Leavenworth
Marysville Police Dept. David L. Ohlde Officer I Marysville Linn
Neosho Co. Sheriff's Dept. Jared R. Ray Deputy Erie Chanute
Newton Police Dept. Jeff Davis Patrolman Newton
Norton Police Dept. Asa W. Stiles Officer
Osborne Co. Sheriff's Dept. Geoffery Sloggett Deputy Osborne
Ottawa Police Dept. Anthony Hurtado Community Service Officer Ottawa
Ottawa Police Dept. Jason M. Klepac Patrolman Ottawa
Paola Police Dept. Zachary D. Smith Patrolman Paola
Pittsburg Police Dept. Joseph Noga Officer Pittsburg
Pottawatomie Co. Sheriff's Dept. Jarrod S. Wood Deputy Westmoreland Manhattan
Quinter Police Dept. Aaron Bridges Marshal Quinter
Reno Co. Sheriff's Dept. Clayton Beaird Deputy Hutchinson
Reno Co. Sheriff's Dept. Jonathon C. Grillot Deputy Hutchinson
Riley Co. Police Dept. Raymond C. Fahrny Police Officer Manhattan
Riley Co. Police Dept. Joshua Mayer Patrol Officer Manhattan
Seward Co. Sheriff's Dept. Fred Small Deputy Liberal
Shawnee Co. Sheriff's Dept. Emily Adams Deputy Topeka Auburn
Shawnee Co. Sheriff's Dept. Reanne Pfannenstiel Deputy Topeka
Shawnee Co. Sheriff's Dept. Caitlin St. Clair Deputy Topeka
St. Francis Police Dept. Derek J. Morrow Officer St. Francis
Valley Center Police Dept. Michael Gordon Police Officer I Valley Center
Washburn University Matthew Haefner Police Officer Topeka
Winfield Police Dept. Ryan Walker Patrol Officer Winfield


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045